Blog Of The Month!…

Been a bit off the grid the last couple days and I just happened to check twitter a while ago and was happily surprised to see a tweet from John Shirley, master translucent porcelain and soluble salts potter from Johannesburg, South Africa. I have greatly admired John’s work ever since I first discovered it. I would love to adventure into those soluble salts some day but ruled it out early when I realized the toxicity issues would be dangerous with a young child around and besides I may not have enough years left in my life to get anywhere near John’s level of expertise. So anyway, John has featured my blog as his Blog Of The Month for April (click to go to John’s blog)…

Thank you very much John, I’m honored. Here are some shots of John’s work with a couple closeups of those beautiful brushstrokes…

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “Blog Of The Month!…”

  1. Patricia Griffin Says:

    Bravo Blogger-of-the-Month!

  2. Connie Says:

    Congratulations!!!!!! That’s awesome!!

  3. Judy Shreve Says:

    Congrats Jim! Nice post about you & your blog . . . .

  4. Kitty Shepherd Says:

    Great news congratulations and I am following you on Twitter, I am very new to it though!

  5. cindy shake Says:

    Way to go BOTM!! Wow- John’s work is lovely too, thanks for the link :)

  6. linda starr Says:

    So cool, you really do have a great, down to earth blog and John’s work is sublime, have admited the metallic salt colors he achieves on his paper thin pieces.

  7. gary rith Says:

    wowie, gorgeous bowls everywhere :)

  8. ron Says:

    Congrats!! I too love reading your blog, seeing the pots and catching up you and Sophia. Catch ya later!

  9. John Shirley Says:

    Hi Jim, although totally unexpected, I honestly appreciate the reciprocity. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

