Drei Deutsche Kunstler…

Last weekend my good buddy Sebastian and I made the relatively short trek to Birmingham for the Alabama Clay Conference. I went last year for the first time and was very impressed by the conference as a whole and especially the artists chosen to present. This year was very much the same thing with three extremely talented and personable artists. Although I’m sure it was not intended, there was a certain Germanic flavor to the conference with Gerit Grimm, Kirt Weiser and Dirk Staschke. OK, Mr. Staschke might not be of German descent but still all those hard Ks and Rs really sound that way. Anyway, it was a whirlwind of events starting with a large clay sale by Alabamans to a symposium put on by the Birmingham Art Museum which included lectures by Magdalene Odundo and Garth Clark amongst others to the artist’s reception at the museum to the pint exchange at the local brewery. Here’s a piece of Magdalene Odundo…

odundo

Here’s some shots of the artists’ demonstrations…

alcc

alcc

alcc

alcc

The following pic of Dirk was an accident but I’m posting here anyway because the flames of the logo on the screen behind him looks like there’s flames coming out of his head…

alcc

I wish I had a pic of Gerit Grimm’s piece finished but it was very blurry when I downloaded it. Regardless here’s her pieces that were in the museum…

alcc

alcc

alcc

alcc

Next up are Dirk’s pieces. The first one’s a bit blurry too and there’s a much better picture of it here. It’s a very large piece…

alcc

alcc

alcc

Last but definitely not least are Mr. Weiser’s pieces…

alcc

alcc

alcc

alcc

alcc

alcc

All three presenters were very engaging and funny. Being a Decemberists fan, my favorite story of Kirt Weiser’s was about the Archie Bray and that Colin Meloy (the lead singer of the Decemberists) is the grandson of Peter Meloy who was one of the founders of the Bray. So all in all, the conference was excellent all round. And as I’ve said before the Birmingham Art Museum is a stellar museum with a fantastic ceramics collection. I’ll post a few shots of favorites but if you get a hankerin’ go here to see all the pics I took at the museum.

bam

bam

bam

bam

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Drei Deutsche Kunstler…”

  1. LInda Starr Says:

    I want to get to that museum and the first piece by Magdalene Odundo really calls to me. I must get on the mailing list for this conference as it really isn’t that far from me.

  2. Allen Says:

    Do I get credit for spotting your photoshop job in the third image. Very nice herr gottuso.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

