Arrogant Bastard…

Ale is one of my favorite beers and I dig the demonic label design too. I’ve found that I fall into a category that brewers call “hop heads”… bitter beer drinkers. Surprisingly, my brother also falls into this category(genetic?) and this called for us splitting the Arrogant Bastard that Sofia and Mom gave me on my birthday. Ruination IPA and Stone IPA, along with Arrogant Bastard are all good hoppy beers made by Stone Brewing.

arrogantbastard

Sofia also had fun to have two bigger cousins visiting that she could play with. She hadn’t seen them in a while and took a bit to warm up but then they were in full swing.

cousins

Somehow we ended up taking acrobatic pictures and I thought this one was hilarious because Sofia is definitely not amused. It was difficult to watch them do this several times because, as someone plagued with plantar fasciitis, whenever you see people jumping it makes you pine for younger days.

cousins1

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Arrogant Bastard…”

  1. gary Says:

    JIM! Hoppy ales, yes indeedy….I always taste a good beer and think ‘this is great but another handful of hops would make it better’. We were visiting Catamount brewery in 1996 (it was in a garage then, later overexpanded and then went bankrupt, new facility bought by Harpoon) and we watched this young dude scale up the side of a huge steel tank with laundry baskets full of hops and dump them in and then he went to the bottom and hit the spigot and turned on the tap and filled his glass and sat back to see how the brew was coming along. Dream job, eh?

  2. cynthia Says:

    Great photos – Sophia most definitely looks over it in the last one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    My hubby is more of a beer drinker than I am – I prefer red wine (mostly – though occasionally a white). When I do drink beer, I tend to go for the wheat beers – sort of citrusy and light.

    Hubby on other hand likes em all – especially ales and stouts. You gotta love the logo/label design!

  3. kcinnova Says:

    My brother is a hoppy beer drinker (I’m in the less bitter is better category) but oh, my I love that jumping pic with Sophia’s expression!
    I hear you on the plantar fasciitis. I miss my running days. Now I’m just glad to be able to walk. Some days better than others but 6 years and counting here. I’ve experimented with barefoot now that it isn’t so bad, and I think I’ve found a good mix of supportive shoes (a couple different pair to keep my feet guessing) and mixing it up with barefooted walking on occasion. And of course, lots of stretching!

    Here once again via Gary. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Jerry Says:

    I love me a hoppy beer, but that Arrogant Bastard is a bit too much for me. Now, Magic Hat’s H.I.P.A. is quite tasty and I’ve had myself a fair amount of it this spring.

    I love that last picture. Sophia has got the bestest expressions.

  5. Gordo Says:

    Visiting family is great, isn’t it? I love that lower picture, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh, I have a couple of Canuck beer labels to show off. I’ll post them later. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Robert Lorenz Says:

    I too am a bitter beer lover. Oh I like stouts and wheats and whatnot too, but the more hops the better. And that last picture is freaking hilarious! That one will probably keep me going most of the day.

Leave a Reply

