April Showers…

Make the dogwood bloom. I know they are quite common but for a week or so every spring I’m glad I planted this dogwood. I thought about moving the limousine that’s behind it before taking the picture but left it to enhance the contrast between the natural world and the very un – natural world.

dogwood

I used to have lilacs out back and the smell alone was enough to transport me to my backyard growing up in central NY and make me remember my grandmother. They were all twisty and broken but every year I just left them for that smell and then last year I dug them all out to extend the studio that I added to the house. Last year I got this little bottlebrush buckeye chestnut… it has a ways to go but it should be great when a couple years get behind it. The columbine next to hasn’t a snowball’s chance in hell.

bottlebrush

Here’s Sofia trying to not stand in front of the contorted filbert that’s been there for 18 years while dad takes a pic. I love this plant in the winter and the summer… branches are squiggly like marks on my bowls in winter and the leaves are like rich green crepe paper in the summer.

contortedfilbert

And last but certainly not least here’s my little bug with her favorite toy. She calls it “teletubbily” probably because she’s never seen the tv show. Teletubbily looks a little worse for wear but I’m kinda digging the patina. It’s because Sofia has completely colored it’s face several times with different magic markers.

sofia_teletubbily

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “April Showers…”

  1. red dirt mule Says:

    love looking at your trees !!!! i cut my college eye teeth on learning how to id trees and shrubs such as yours …… here in Texas, the landscaping palate is completely different!

    my step daughter (now 21) LOVED teletubbies. I’ll refrain from commenting – πŸ˜‰

    stop by – I stole photos from your blog and posted on being a patroness of pots yesterday – you were featured in my ‘collection.’ !!!

    xxx
    rdm

  2. gary Says:

    oh man, that kid…….
    lovely trees, your spring is so far ahead of us!

  3. cynthia Says:

    My daughter used to LOVE Teletubblies… πŸ˜‰ Alas, she’s growing up and wouldn’t be caught dead with one – God forbid one of her friends would see her with it. Quelle horrible! I can still hear the theme song in my head….

    I’m jealous about your bloomin’ tree – I look forward to seeing our red bud and crab apple bloom every year – but all the buds were knocked off this spring with a heavy wet 12″ late snow storm. I feel a bit cheated, even though the blooms don’t last long.

  4. Meredith Says:

    I love spring trees- but I do love Sofia’s happy face and well loved doll!

  5. Gordo Says:

    My eldest (12 in aug) was all over Teletubbies when he was little. Jerry Falwell said Tinky Winky (Sofia’s) was the evil gay one, if you recall. πŸ˜‰

    We have loads of dogwood around the hives at the cottage and wound up with a bumper crop of berries to feed the birds all through the summer. We have a small lilac beside the front porch at home that I absolutely adore. Reminds me of laying under the pair of them in my parents’ back yard.

  6. Barbara Edwards Says:

    I have those wonderful memories of playing under the lilacs and kept trying to grow them in CA but somehow, just couldn’t get the same growth or smell. I think they need more chilling hours than I can give them.
    I think young artist Sofia has improved the teletubbily’s complexion.

  7. Michele Says:

    Here in Western Canada, there is not yet a leaf in sight (we are just barely out of the snow) so your ‘exotic’ tree pics are a treat. As are those of the lovely Sofia. I hope she will forgive you when she is a teenager;)!

  8. artistatexit0 Says:

    Jim, Spent some time looking through your posts and had to comment on this photo of Sophia. Both Patti and I cracked up over this one! Michael still has a “PO” Teletubbily that’s got to be ten years old now. Once when we visited my Mom in Texas, “PO” was lost in the house during a game of hide and seek the doll. For the life of us, we couldn’t find it even when we knew it was in my Mom’s closet. Time came for us to leave and Michael was heart broken. “PO” showed up in the mail a few weeks later…he had been well stashed in a shoe box. The fuzz on his face is all worn off but he is still a sentimental favorite of Michael’s.

Leave a Reply

