For The Love Of Honey…

“Some people… got to have it. Some people… really need it.” I strained some honey yesterday and Sofia decided to make some labels for me. She really wanted to draw on the jars with a magic marker but it wasn’t working very well… so when all else fails, she gets out the glue. I think they are better than anything I could have come up with.

honeyjars

It’s going to rain “holy cats” (as Gary says) and dogs for the next couple days and hopefully I’m gonna throw some big bowls for the next couple days. Sofia is walking around the house saying “boooo” ’cause she’s a ghost right now. My good friend Terry is supposed to come over tonight for our monthly super scrabble game. When you are obsessed with scrabble it is a rare occurrence to find out a friend is equally obsessed and we will be having another knock down drag out game I’m sure with hippy popcorn and good beers. Super scrabble is played on a larger board and takes 3 hours minimum. We play with my dad’s 1934 Webster’s Unabridged Dictionary and a 1960 something Funk & Wagnall’s Unabridged Dictionary as the final word on challenges and if it’s not in one of those then it’s not a word… this makes it simpler and there are no arguments. There are subtle strategies to throw the other player off his game and much has to do with home court advantage… for instance when I go to Terry’s home to play (we alternate venues), he has his dog lay at my feet under my chair and pass gas all night. This plays hell with my concentration and doesn’t bother him at all because he has a problem with his septum and cannot smell hardly at all. I don’t have any weapons nearly as effective but Sofia helps a bit by distracting him but she goes to bed at 8 so it doesn’t last long. Actually, she’s a double-edged sword because sometimes she’ll stand behind me and say something like “Dad, you got 2 S’s and an R”. Anyway, it will be fun no doubt. Here’s another pot…

bowl

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “For The Love Of Honey…”

  1. Gordo Says:

    Those labels are great, Jim! I’ll have to see if Cameron will do something lik ethat for Greg and I. 🙂

    Good luck with the scrabble.

  2. Jerry Says:

    Scrabble is the best. I have not had the chance to play Super Scrabble, but it sounds like it would be fun, especially with popcorn & good beer. Three of my favorite things all together.

    Have a fun time!

  3. gary Says:

    man, that so totally sucks—I should BE THERE!

  4. jim Says:

    Hi Linda,
    Unfortunately the reason for so much honey this early is that all the bees
    died this winter and I had to clean out the hive to get ready for this
    year’s bees. I’m glad you like the pot but I’ve never given much thought to
    naming the color… but I should come up with something I guess.
    Jim

  5. Miri Says:

    Great labels and lovely pot. Hope Sofia has recovered from her close encounter with the Bzzzzz…. Dare I ask what is hippy popcorn??? M

Leave a Reply

