Knock Down, Drag Out…

just as billed… the game started at 6:30 and ended at midnight. Of course the first 1 1/2 hours went slowly because of a small, energetic and very loud human running around laughing and dancing. At game’s end we were both amazed and impressed that the winner was only a winner by 1 point with a score of 767-768… ay caramba! how is that possible? Here’s the final board… if you notice words that you think may not be, it may be because it was not prudent to challenge them and risk losing a turn and so they were let be… such is Scrabble.

scrabble

I may have put it off for about as long as possible but I hardly ever use bats when I’m throwing. I understand how much easier they would make my life but I’ve been resisting. As shown below, I think I’ve about reached my no-bat limit… this one is 14+ inches in diameter. Unfortunately, figuring in a 12-13% shrinkage rate to the post glaze fire, it will end up around 12.5 inches in diameter. So somewhere in here I’m gonna have to go get some plywood? maybe, make a circle jig and bother one of my friends that has a bandsaw to let me cut some circles.

wet bowl

Here’s a scary monster that attacked me while at the computer.

sofia

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “Knock Down, Drag Out…”

  1. cynthia Says:

    My husband and I have scrabble-a-thons occasionally – but I really have to be in the zone and mood. I like to pull out qat and xi for those last minute zingers to use with tricky letters. It always ticks him off because he forgets about those words. Go check – they’re in the “official scrabble dictionary” – which is the final word in our house when it comes to challenges.

    Somehow, Sofia isn’t so scary…more like adorable!

  2. cynthia Says:

    PS – go get yourself some bats…you and your bowls deserve it.

  3. Jerry Says:

    Looks like it was a great game, “hazings” is a good one. What are the corner squares on this board? We have the official scrabble dictionary as well, and there are some crazy words in there that only scrabble players would know. But as Cynthia says, they do come in handy.

    And the only way Sofia is scary in that picture is if she is shooting purple lasers out of her mouth, rather than chewing on something.

    • jim Says:

      Those corners are worth quadruple word score and there are quadruple letter
      scores too. It takes a while to get out to those corners though, especially
      when both players are being defensive.

  4. gary Says:

    ‘twinged’!!!!!!!!!!!! ‘HO’!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Gorgeous bowl, my man. bats are also useful when you have a tall bottle with a narrow top and you are too lazy ass to turn it over and trim it so you just trim it on the bat where it was thrown without turning it over…
    That kid is so funny, and look at the little crease between her eyes!

  5. gary Says:

    yes, and I twinged, OK….hohoho!

  6. Meredith Says:

    Hi Jim- try getting sink cut outs which will have Formica tops on them. They make great large bats.
    Check with a local cabinet- kitchen/bath business. They usually just throw them away.
    Love a good game of scrabble- it’s been awhile we are big into Dominos around here.

  7. red dirt mule Says:

    LOVE the Scrabble board !!!!
    reminds me fondly of the night i beat my sweetheart, life-long SCRABBLE champ of his family, hands down, by an entire WORD …. like taking candy from a baby … !! not that i’d steal candy from a baby, mind you.

    but i did bring my own Red Dirt Dictionary !!!

    xxx
    rdm

  8. Barbara Edwards Says:

    Yay quad scrabble scores! I play on-line with a clay mate and whoever else I can talk into it. You have some fortitude to play for 5 and a half hours!

  9. Scrabble Night, Pshaw… « Sofia’s Dad’s Pots Says:

    […] Night, Pshaw… By jim After our last scrabble-athon going on for hours and ending up with only one point to decide the game (true excitement for the […]

Leave a Reply

