1984…

It certainly wasn’t as George Orwell had envisioned but surreal nonetheless. Here’s an old picture that I keep around. It reminds me of and proves to myself that I did spend a year in Missoula, Montana in graduate school at the University of Montana. My undergrad clay instructor said go to Montana and study with Rudy Autio and so I did. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to spend as much time with Rudy as I would have liked. He was a great guy and I loved to watch him work. It’s only in retrospect that I realize how lucky I was to be able to hang out and watch him make his “pots” for the undergraduate students. The university’s swimming pool was in the building with the ceramics and sculpture departments and Rudy used to come in early early and go for a swim before starting his day. Eventually, he allowed me to fire some of his pots for him and I was terrified that I would do something wrong although it was pretty much foolproof. I only spent a year there and left to attend school in the midwest. The professor who was running the department day-to-day was really into performance art and I wasn’t. This combined with economic problems prompted me to leave and go where I was given a free ride tuition-wise. Anyway, this is the only picture I have and it’s of my studio space there with some of the pots I was working on. I remember making 19 of these handbuilt pots, all about 4-5 feet tall. I visited KY the following summer intending to return and never went back. I have no idea what happened to the 19 big pots (probably destroyed) but I have nothing to show for my year there except this photo (sorry, no scanner) and the memories. Check out the coke can as a form of carbon dating…

montana

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “1984…”

  1. Joel Blum Says:

    Wow… those are pretty darn cool!

  2. gary Says:

    Jimbo, maaaaan you are something else.

  3. cynthia Says:

    These are awesome – I hope they weren’t destroyed!! What a fantastic opportunity to work with Rudy Autio – I can see why your instructor would want you to work with him.

  4. cynthia Says:

    I graduated HS in ’84 – I think I was drinking Tab though…

  5. Miri Says:

    Gorgeous! You could fit a small child in one of those.

  6. Amy H Says:

    wow… they’re huge! that is the kinda pic that would be good to frame just as is… I think. Good variance in the designs on each.

Leave a Reply

