Rainy Days And Mondays…

And Tuesdays and Wednesdays… we had a busy day and Sofia’s going through clay like shite through a goose. I now have no room for more bowls and she has no room for more tiles but it’s so much fun to have her in the studio busily working away while I’m at the wheel and we’re jamming to some good music. Occasionally she comments that she likes a particular song and I kid myself that her having my taste in music will last. Enjoy it while it lasts is all I can do. More importantly, I’m hoping that what sinks in is that making things is a normal way to make a living. Here’s the tilemaker posing with her little tile…

sofia

We also had ballet class yesterday. I had never taken her before and it was funny to watch the little girls jumping around and mimicking the teacher… kind of a cute overload and Sofia had been asking me to take her so I could watch. All this dancing is creeping into her drawings lately… talk about cuttin’ the rug…

drawing

More greenware…

greenware

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Rainy Days And Mondays…”

  1. Andrew Douglas Says:

    Important to get that way of thinking across though – no one gave me the option when I was at school, of making things – although I did almost persue a career in technical drawing via an apprenticeship (went the university route instead though.)

    Also, want to say, however bad life gets, I always get a cheer from your posts – when I read “We also had ballet class yesterday” I laughed out loud, imagining you both dancing. Brilliant stuff.

  2. Miri Says:

    Those bowls are so graceful, they look like they just want to fly away…if you know what I mean.

  3. gary Says:

    I love those dancin’ legs she drew, totally rubbery!
    My man, Blues progression is on the radio, BB King, Koko Taylor and all, c’mon over for some coffee, cookies, clay and bluuuuuues….

  4. Barbara Edwards Says:

    Looking forward to seeing color on Sofia’s tiles and then on the shower wall! I bet she will always love the music she is hearing now- even when her music ‘appreciation’ expands wildly at about 13.

  5. Meredith Says:

    Our daughter and her Dad still talk and exchange music.
    She spent a year at home with us, while we were opening our pottery shop, at the ripe age of 5- the memories are still fond ones.
    Her favorite tunes at the time were Reggae

  6. judi tavill Says:

    Good stuff!

  7. Lynda Says:

    Hi, Jim… stopping by via Gary. Sofia is just adorable! And that drawing is so creative.

Leave a Reply

