Trying To Get A Handle On Things…

Making cups and pulling handles. Someone has ordered multiple cups and now I’m making twice as many because I have never been very good at making the same thing over and over. Anyway, will probably make cups for a week or so… they sell well and fill up all those little places in the kiln. Here’s some handles drying…

handles

Fortunately, the cups on order do not have handles like this cup from a year or so ago. I used to refer to these handles as “question mark” handles… they take a long time compared to just attaching a handle and have a tendency to split at the joints occasionally but sometimes I get a bit carried away.

cup

Tomorrow’s the big day… our new pup will be delivered to the area via what I call the underground railroad of dog delivery. Apparently dog rescue people from all over the country volunteer to tackle the transportation issue by driving a particular pet their “leg” of the journey, it’s amazing really and these people do it only for the love of animals. Sofia is excited and I’m sure tomorrow will be a whirlwind for us and the dog too.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Trying To Get A Handle On Things…”

  1. gary Says:

    Amigo, top pic is awol, but I love this ? cup here!
    Cannot wait to meet the pup!

  2. jenmecca Says:

    What a nice blog. Of course I like all the photo’s of your daughter and “the bugs”! I’ll keep checking in on Sofia!
    Jennifer Mecca

  3. Barbara Edwards Says:

    Handles!
    The dog gets delivered to you!? Lucky Sofia meeting her new pup in her own yard. Happy doggie day tomorrow.

  4. Gordo Says:

    Yay! Doggie delivery!

  5. Joel Blum Says:

    Ahh the joys of freash dog…

  6. cynthia Says:

    I was making handles yesterday too – not my favorite activity. I don’t like pulling them and have resorted to hand building them from slabs which I have quite a high rate of splittage. They’re currently drying in the kitchen so I can baby them.

    The question mark handles are pretty cool!

Leave a Reply

