Astilbe Makin’ Cups…

Astilbe trainin’ the new pup and Astilbe waitin’ for the rain to stop (not really). It has rained alot but the garden is booming and the new crop of squirrels have their beady little eyes trained on my new avocado squash plants thinking, won’t it be great to pick each and every squash a day or two before it’s ripe and bring it high up in the tree, take a bite, spit it out and throw what’s left to the ground. I don’t know, maybe squirrels don’t really think that way… I may be projecting. Well, here’s the Astilbe in bloom, we planted a bunch of these “shade” plants and then my tree died and our shade garden was converted to a full sun garden… this one survived…

astilbe

Here’s some cups, my operation was interrupted by my two day stint with the little bug so I’m trying to keep them moist (arcilla mojada)…

greenware

Sunglasses is a sweet dog and we’ve already gotten to the point where we’re not really worried about her and Sofia being together. I’m closely monitoring the situation but I’m feeling much more relaxed as Sunglasses doesn’t seem aggressive with people in the slightest bit… it’s clear she’s no watchdog and that suits me fine. She is chewing on stuff (mostly Sofia’s toys) but nothing serious… yet. Only one accident so far and we’re used to that as our previous pup, Butchie, who was very old had incontinence issues for the last two years. I wished I had my camera with me yesterday as we were in the backyard and she was walking around with a small ball peen hammer in her mouth. She also has taken cantaloupe rinds and buried them in the sandbox, then later dug them up and brought them in the house along with some sand covered matchbox cars and seashells.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Astilbe Makin’ Cups…”

  1. John Bauman Says:

    “Astilbe trainin’ the new pup and Astilbe waitin’ for the rain to stop ”

    Man, if I were you, I’d have posted that line euonymusly.

  2. Miri Says:

    Wow! Now I see why you needed all ’em handles! Lovely flowers too.

  3. gary Says:

    SUNGLASSES, yay!

  4. Gordo Says:

    Goofy dogs are the best kind. 🙂

  5. Jason Says:

    Jim–I just wanted to pop in and say thank you for such a well-thought out and meaningful comment that you left on my post “This Image Haunts Me.” You put into words so many things that I haven’t been able to articulate. I appreciate it very much.

Leave a Reply

