Pot Sketches 2009…

Sofia and I were drawing yesterday and she said before we started… “I’m gonna draw pots today.” These are particularly interesting to me because I always look at them and think that if I could only replicate them in 3 dimensions and keep the certainty of line and uninhibited nature of how it’s drawn that I would actually have something. Of course when the people are added and the scale becomes clear, I realize that a two story kiln would be needed or the piece would have to be scaled down (and we all know what happens when we try to scale something up or down and retain its freshness. Anyway both drawings are of pots that are so big, ladders are leaning against them so the girls and boy can work on their particular area. In the first one two girls are standing on the shoulder of the pot and the boy is not helping but is riding a dog. The second drawing has a little girl inside the pot working on it…

drawing

drawing

Since I’m in the greenware phase (never ending), here’s an older cup with a funkadelic handle…

cup

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Pot Sketches 2009…”

  1. gary Says:

    And a funkadelic surface my man!

  2. cynthia Says:

    I totally know what you mean about kid’s art! I would like to lift some of my daughter’s drawings to use in my work. There’s a “je ne sais quoi” quality that I can’t replicate – ever. When I was in school, I did use one of her images for a print making class – I still have the copper plate somewhere in my stash-o-stuff. I should pull it out some time, no doubt it’s oxidized by now.

    I particularly like Sofia’s dog drawing…

  3. Meredith Says:

    I love your pots but I adore Sofia’s art work!
    Have you framed any of them?
    She needs her own art show- I did this with some friends kids and it was a blast- we did a show for the parents- of course we hung most of the art on the kitchen fridge… it was fitting.

  4. Joel Blum Says:

    I’m with you on wishing I could make my work as free and wonderful as my children’s work. Their drawings and ideas show me I really don’t spend enough time intellectually throwing myself off cliffs anymore just to see if I can fly.

    I’m green with handle envy…

  5. judy Shreve Says:

    Sofia sure is lucky to have you as her dad. With her artwork appreciated at such a young age – she will have the courage to be fearless when she grows up.

    Love the mug!

  6. Christina Viering Says:

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

