I Think My Daughter Is Part Fruit Bat…

Not just because she likes fruit, doesn’t everyone and although we are pretty much herbivorous here at home, I believe she might be frugivorous or nectarivorous. Sofia already eats more fruit than Mom and me put together. The list includes strawberries, cherries, apples, pears, oranges, peaches, plums, blueberries, bananas, mangoes, avocados, watermelon, cantaloupe, blackberries and more. We’re very happy about this because we think it’s a good thing but what makes me wonder about possible pteropodine roots is that when we are out walking or in the park she adds to this list by also eating those little strawberries you find in the field that are about the size of a pea, and crab apples, ornamental pears, wild cherries, persimmons, mulberries, paw paws and the list goes on. I’ve eaten many of these things but they are on the outer edges of taste… some very bitter and some mealy and bland but we have to stop at the mulberry bush/tree on all our walks with the dog to see if any more are ripe. It’s a good thing the “devil’s apple” looks the way it does or she’d want to eat that too. Here’s a couple pics of the fruit bat after a particularly juicy plum…

sofia

sofia

So we spent much time this weekend in the yard in the sandbox with the demonic dog Sunglasses and I’m starting to think she might be part truffle rooting pig. Sorry no pics but every time I took out the camera and got closer, she stopped. Anyway she dug about 15 or so holes in the sandbox and thrust her snout into them and pushed. Not sure what’s going on there but maybe some long useless instinct. Here’s the pup, the calm before the storm…

sunglasses

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “I Think My Daughter Is Part Fruit Bat…”

  1. gary Says:

    Your daughter is hilarious and your dog is so cute!!!

  2. Gordo Says:

    Sharkey snuffles in the snow like that. It’s pretty funny to watch him dig a trench through a foot of powdery snow and then let rip with a huge sneeze. LOL

  3. Amy H Says:

    hope Sunglasses surprises you and behaves better than usual! Are there children more beautiful than Sophia? I wonder.

  4. judy Shreve Says:

    I’ve had lots of rescue-dogs. I think they ‘act-out’ for attention. They’ve been either ignored or ‘punished’ their entire lives — so they think misbehaving is how to get attention.

    These rescue dogs sometimes need a little extra loving & givingrewards for good behavior can help turn it around. Like you need one more thing to do . . . lol!

    Great photos! And I’m a fruit-bat, too!

  5. cynthia Says:

    Too cute! Sofia is adorable – and the demon dog….hehehe.

    My daughter also out consumes me when it comes to eating fruit.

Leave a Reply

