Green Pee? or Put Your Glasses On Dumbass…

One of the benefits of having a 4 year old is listening to 4 year old conversations. Last night we were eating dinner and Sofia wanted to eat out in the back yard so we let her go out and put Sunglasses, the dog, out there with her. She was having some pasta and a cup of green tea. Her little friend 3 houses down was in her backyard too and they were yelling as loud as they could back and forth. Here’ how it went… her friend’s name is Gwyneth:

Gwyneth: What are you drinking?
Sofia: Tea
Gwyneth: Pee?
Sofia: No… Tea
Gwyneth: Pee?
Sofia: No… Tea
Gwyneth: What’s tea?
Sofia: It’s a drink.
Gwyneth: A drink?
Sofia: It’s green tea.
Gwyneth: Green pee?
Sofia: No, green tea.
Gwyneth: Oh… (pause)
Sofia: You know, green tea, black tea, chamomile.
Gwyneth: OK bye
Sofia: Bye
Then there’s a 20 second pause and…
Sofia: Gwyneth
Gwyneth: What?
Sofia: Sunglasses peed.
Gwyneth: What?
Sofia: Sunglasses just peed.
Gwyneth: Pee?
Sofia: Yeah, peed
Gwyneth: Green pee?
Sofia: No she just peed.
Gwyneth: Oh
Sofia: She pooped too.
Gwyneth: What?
Sofia: Sunglasses just pooped too.
Gwyneth: Oh
Sofia: It was green
Gwyneth: What was?

I could go on but you get the idea and I was starting to have trouble hearing them out the window because I was laughing and trying to get Mom to come to the window and hear for herself. Here’s some recent “accidents” that have happened in the studio that all potters can relate to. One night after drinking 2 beers, I decided to trim the last nice little bowl I needed to trim. After trimming, I grabbed it by the foot (which I never do) and picked it up to right it, bobbled it in my hands and finally caught it. How lucky was that?

brokenpot

Days later, I was arranging greenware to create more room to work and my glasses were on the other table which was way over 8 feet away and what do I need them damn things for anyway? After gingerly setting down the pot in my hands, I moved quickly and not seeing this bowl, bumped it off the edge of the table and finally caught it. How lucky was that?

brokenpot

Tags: , , ,

12 Responses to “Green Pee? or Put Your Glasses On Dumbass…”

  1. Joel Blum Says:

    Ahhhhh… the darling dose of daily DOH!

  2. gary Says:

    mmmm, maybe not so lucky at all!!!!
    Your kid is fantastic, absolutely funny!

  3. Monica Says:

    I needed that laugh 🙂 (not about the pots) Sophia is amazing.

  4. Monica Says:

    man sofia too… her name is all over your blog and i still manage to butcher it.

  5. Meredith Says:

    Good laugh- I miss those days- although it sounds like some of the conversations Mark and I are having these days.
    And you know better then to drink and trim…..

  6. Keith Says:

    Love those conversations! Thanks for the chuckle!

  7. Filippo Docks pottery Says:

    Buonasera Jim, a old Sicilian proverb says if you break a bowl that will mean good news if you break two begins to worry. I am sure that the old Sicilian proverbs excluded potters.
    Ciao arrivederci
    filippo

    • jim Says:

      hi filippo… thanks, i need more sicilian proverbs at my disposal, my grandfather died before he could pass them on to me… he went from palermo through ellis island to central new york in 1912

  8. Becky Jo Says:

    Awww man. I’m sorry for your pots. I just had a whole bunch of pendants glue themselves together from a rookie mistake. I feel your pain.

    Green pee? That’s dang funny. I’m impressed that your 4 year old knows what chamomile is. 🙂

  9. Filippo Docks pottery Says:

    Maybe your grandfather in Ellis Island was next to my relatives. In the same year, many from Termini Imerese immigrated, town near Palermo where I was born. Now I have uncles and cousins in America.I try to send other Sicilian proverbs.
    You know?
    http://www.ellisisland.org/ -To know the people that between 1892 and 1924 has landed at the entrance to New York from Europe, more than 22 million immigrants.
    Ciao
    filippo

  10. Filippo Docks pottery Says:

    Maybe your grandfather in Ellis Island was next to my relatives. In the same year, many from Termini Imerese immigrated, town near Palermo where I was born. Now I have uncles and cousins in America.I try to send other Sicilian proverbs.
    You know?
    http://www.ellisisland.org/ -To know the people that between 1892 and 1924 has landed at the entrance to New York from Europe, more than 22 million immigrants.
    Ciao
    filippo
    Oops…forgot to say great post! Looking forward to your next one.

  11. nadia Says:

    stop making me laugh! i’m at work!!

Leave a Reply

