Hydro-Abrasion Test Bisque Results…

Michael Kline has informed me that at Penland they referred to the process I’m using as “hydro-abrasion”. Makes sense to me and makes it seem really scientific too. I tried a couple of variations on the splattery bowls and bisqued them before I committed to doing too many of them in a fashion that I didn’t like the looks of. Of course, I don’t really know what they look like until they’re glazed but I feel a lot closer to guessing after the bisque because all the resist has burned away. I also answered one burning question… if slip was left on a previously shellacked surface (in other words, if the slip had resist between it and the clay body), would the slip adhere to the clay body once the resist burned away or would I be able to simply brush it away as debris? Answer: yes, it adheres just as if I had painted the slip on the raw clay. So I was trying to decide between the first two pictures’ approaches, the first where the negative space is black slip or the second that has a black slip stripe around the previously etched area. I think I like the first one better so I’ll probably do the remaining one’s like that unless something else comes to mind while finishing them up. Here’s the first two…

bisque

bisque

By the way, my finger is still numb where the ants bit me… is that possible? I was just kidding about the necrosis, now maybe not so much.

Tags: , , , ,

13 Responses to “Hydro-Abrasion Test Bisque Results…”

  1. Miri Says:

    Those results look great (I also prefer the first treatment–great sense of depth). Unfortunately, we are experts on ant bites. Mostly fire ants (where the bit actually creates a little pussy blister). It is quite normal for the pain to last for a few days, so I wouldn’t worry too much. If you “hit” the bite with a spray of benadryl extra strength itch relief (awesome stuff: we have bottles on every level of the house…) you can actually avoid the pain and the blister.

  2. gary Says:

    Pussy blister????
    Man, what kind of pet is that? Can you sue?????????? Could be worth millions…..

  3. gary Says:

    Oh, and the pots are tres gorgeous, and missed ya last night!

  4. Jeff Campana Says:

    Those are excellent. Can’t wait to see them all finished. The graphic appeal of them is strong. It looks like a cross between your blue and white ware and your water etched stuff.

  5. Patricia Griffin Says:

    Oh, oh, oh! I like them both, but am partial to the second one actually.

  6. Kitty Shepherd Says:

    Man you really need to visit this site; http://www.jacksonpollock.org/ Use the left button on your mouse to change colour, it’s just like your pots.

  7. Becky Jo Says:

    Ok, so this hydro thingie you’re doing is a little advanced for rookies like me, but both of them are very cool. So where do you go from here? Do you clear glaze them and fire again?

    • jim Says:

      hi becky jo… i glaze them not necessarily with clear but something transparent for sure

  8. Gord Says:

    Soembody mentioned earlier that ants have formic acid in their bites. It’s nasty stuff. It’s actually used in commerical beekeeping to treat for varroa mites, but you should see the usage warnings on the stuff: heavy nitrile gloves and a respirator. Ugh. That’s not going anywhere near my bees.

  9. ang Says:

    ahh looking good, you just have to go with your 1st instinct.. i do like the 1st one though..

  10. Joel Blum Says:

    I like them both…. aw that’s no help.

Leave a Reply

