PolyVinyl Chloride (Grownup Tinker Toys)…

I used “grownup” instead of “adult” in the title to divert unsavory traffic. My buddy Miri in Puerto Rico (<– Spanish) wanted me to post this because Nick in Puerto Rico (<-Spanish) happens to share my interest in pvc as a sort of adult tinker toys. I'm afraid Nick is on a whole other level though because my little pvc tinker toy project is not nearly as impressive and I tried to let Miri know so she wouldn't be let down. Anyway, a while back, I was glazing these rather tall vases and needed to hold them upside down to pour over the sides. I never like resting them on slats because the "footprint" of where the glaze bunches up is too large and there's 4 of them, two for each slat. So I thought… pvc. No need for glue and actually it's better without glue because in the case of the vases, the vertical piece can be interchanged with different sizes to accommodate different sized vases without them either being suspended too far above the kitty litter tray or too close to the pool of glaze in the kitty litter tray. Later, I started to like some of the poured effects so I made a mini-pvc pot holder for cups. Here they both are… I was short a cap and put tape over the end so glaze wouldn't seep into the pipe and it's still that way (this probably says more about me than most things, but hey, I didn't have to make another trip to home depot).

pvc

pvc

As far as use, it has its limitations like the slats, if the pot is level while upside down glaze drips will dry and when you right the pot it will look like the beginnings of a little tiara forming around the rim. Consequently I usually suspend the pot at an angle (or as they say in the south, a “hangle”) so that the drips all go to the same point of departure and you can deal with it later much easier. Recently I found another use for pvc… talking into a length of it in a menacing voice drives misbehaving canines crazy. So anyway check out Nick and Miri’s great blog which is chronicling their move to Puerto Rico. Here’s one of their pvc posts and here’s another. And while you’re at it, if you are interested in ^6 oxidation firing, Miri is in the midst of a rather comprehensive test of said glazes with pictures of the results, recipes and other detailed info here.

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “PolyVinyl Chloride (Grownup Tinker Toys)…”

  1. Filippo Docks Pottery Says:

    Thanks Jim, I went to visit the blog of Nick and Miri, it is very interesting.
    Ciao

  2. gary Says:

    tres cool Jim!
    I love Miri’s pvc photo booth alright….

  3. jen mecca Says:

    You know, I never thought of that before but PVC is an adult tinker toy. Thanks for the laugh. Jen

  4. Miri Says:

    Thanks for the shout out Jim! Very cool contraption, especially as I think I’ve got all the little parts (we’ve sworn not to go near Home Depot for at least 2 weeks…). Miri

  5. meredith Says:

    smart- beats our toilet plugers- I am sending Mark over to read this!

  6. Eugene Hon Says:

    The idea of coconut curry sounds just fantastic (visit to Nick and Miri blog). Rather cold here in Johannesburg (rather dry, grey winters) and a curry would have been very nice indeed. The bunch of bananas looked like fruit from paradise, especially the flowers and the butterflies – wish it was summer. brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

  7. Becky Jo Says:

    That’s a handy idea! I’ll show that to the builder of the household and see if he’ll construct me something like that… mine works ok, but it’s only one size, and it tends to splatter a little more than I like. Thanks for the photos! 🙂

  8. Solange Belém Says:

    Hi, congratulations!
    Great ideia!
    Hugs

    Sol

Leave a Reply

