Chocolatey Goodness…

Well in typical fashion, the thing I never intended worked out the best. I have pots, soon to be made, with no underglaze and I wanted another glaze that would highlight the surface activity (a transparent or translucent glaze). I didn’t have any of these pots to fire and wasn’t going to test this new glaze (chocolat) on any of the black underglazed pots because of the amount of time put into them… I figured it would be dark enough that I might not be able to see the black coming through or that the contrast would be really subdued. Serendipitously, I cracked one of these labor intensive underglazed pots and figured because no one would want it anyway, I could go ahead and use the new glaze. Of course I was wrong but it’s a good thing. Here’s the chocolat glaze and since the pot is cracked, or one could say chipped, this is as close as I’m gonna get to a chocolate “chip” pot…

chocolatebowl

chocolatebowl

The black underglaze actually looks like the color of those really dark semisweet chocolate bars. Not to beat a dead horse but here’s another not so great pic but because it was outside the reflection highlights the depth of the surface relief…

chocolatebowl

I was a bit antsy about this kilnload because I had several experiments in it and started thinking of how they might all end up as failed experiments. All in all the kilnload was a success. The only thing that didn’t really work was the crawly glaze and I know what the next step should be there. When I first tried it on that test tile I figured I’d better make it thin or it wouldn’t stay on the piece and I erred on the too thin side… but the test pots look kinda yummy anyway because they just ended up looking really matte.

Tags: , , ,

16 Responses to “Chocolatey Goodness…”

  1. gary Says:

    Basically, it looks AWESOME!

  2. Michael Mahan Says:

    I like the glaze. Looks edible.

  3. Jerry Says:

    Looks good enough to eat! That last shot is fantastic and shows everything off really nicely.

  4. Jeff Campana Says:

    most excellent!

  5. Miri Says:

    Makes all the waiting worth while, doesn’t it? Lovely!

  6. Alex Says:

    Damn fine sir! Looks wicked sweet!

  7. Joel Blum Says:

    Mmmmmmm…. i love chocolate…..

  8. meredith Says:

    pass the whipped cream- that is one yummy pot!

  9. Cindy G. Says:

    This technique certainly leaves a strong impression. Just lovely.

  10. Kathleen Says:

    Jimmy! This IS so yummy! Gorgeous. My kids just told me that for the past ten days I’ve been saying Hablo Ingles, meaning I SPEAK ENGLISH! Course W & Q thought it was hysterical to stand back and watch the grocery clerk, concierge, etc. say, Si, you speak English. Sigh. Wyatt is pining for one of your neighbor’s puppies. Home on Monday. Love, Kath

  11. Becky Jo Says:

    I’m a self-proclaimed chocoholic… seriously, that looks edible. If I didn’t know better, I might lose my mind and try to eat it! Love the color!

  12. cynthia Says:

    “Chocolat Chip” heheheehe – a bit early for me, but made me laugh!

    Nice combo and cool glaze experiment.

  13. Judy Shreve Says:

    Love the chocolate – and the black underglaze gives it just the right amount of dark semi sweet lusciousness. What a great success!

  14. Eugene Hon Says:

    Perfect for a delicious dessert – yummy, after you have finished the pudding you can eat the bowl. fantastic

  15. eugene hon Says:

    Jim, John and I just luv the bowls – what do they sell for. Price please

  16. Patina Says:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wabi-sabi

Leave a Reply

