New Yoga Pose…

Necessity truly is the mother of invention and I’ve invented a new yoga pose. Fortunately the weather has been temperate and it’s not a Bikram Yoga pose. I suppose I’ll have to name it but haven’t decided between “Dissecting The Frog” or “Treacherous Rhinoplasty” mostly because they remind that one slip during the operation results in something ugly. Here’s how you get into the pose: (remember your breathing) Sit down, bend forward at the waist and look forward stretching your neck up and out, put the left elbow on the left knee and extend the left arm up slightly with the index and middle finger of the left hand gently touching the banding wheel, extend the right arm straight forward from the shoulder and bend the right elbow inward at a 90 degree angle (or as they say in the south “hangle”) and hover the hand holding a paint brush over the rim of a bowl. Hold for 2 hours. The 2 hours part is what make it work and once you get the hang of it here’s what the results are…

greenware

greenware

greenware

Aaaaaaahhhhhhh, now relax a minute, turn the bowl over and your reward for holding the pose is…

greenware

Tags: , , ,

16 Responses to “New Yoga Pose…”

  1. gary Says:

    DEDICATION my man!

  2. Diablo con queso Says:

    Dedication with meditation!

  3. cynthia Says:

    Aie chihuahua! Definitely a labor of love? Or is it a bit of an OCD compulsion? Just kidding – the results are fantastic!

  4. Miri Says:

    I never had enough patience for yoga!!! πŸ™‚

  5. Eugene Hon Says:

    Steady hand indeed – inside and out, now that is true commitment. I am very impressed with the quality of that application, consistency and attention to the gaps in-between, the negative spaces. It comes with years of experience and confidence – a very therapeutic approach. No pain no gain kind of thing is it. Also makes it difficult to copy and the dedication certainly adds the master craftspersons touch, to this particular work. One of my students is head of the ceramics section at Sotheby’s and therefore brings us their ceramic catalogues – it is amazing, the projected prices of some of those Japanese bowls and vases. One is estimated to go for $700 000 – and it certainly did not require this kind of painstaking effort on the part of the craftsperson. Hopefully your commitment will be rewarded in one way or another in the near future or when ever.

    • jim Says:

      and i would settle for a mere fraction of $700 000, my friend ig is into the esoterica that would make a pot command that kind of dough, although i admit at some point is leaves my ability to comprehend… they are beautiful though, it’s like spending 100 000 + for a koi and i can’t make heads or tales how one is worth that and another is worth only a pittance

  6. claytastic Says:

    wow. I admired the dedication. I don’t have the dedication myself.

  7. Joel Blum Says:

    Zen, patience, vision, & talent are a great mix… Amazing results!
    I’ve been hoping that you’d share a look at how you create that pattern. My back starts hurting just looking at the pictures.

  8. meredith Says:

    I’m not playing, but I would suggest you use that arm for a cold one or two after the inside of the bowl is done.
    Not before but after!
    My neck hurts just thinking about the work you put into each piece- not to talk about the eye strain.
    Beautiful and dedicated!

  9. judy Shreve Says:

    That’s pretty intense — but oh my — the results are amazing! It sure was good to see your work ‘up close & personal’ at the artisan center.

    And I have to ask – can you do that while your Sofia is in the room? — lol! Now that’s concentration!

  10. Becky Jo Says:

    WOW. I mean…. WOW. That’s impressive. πŸ™‚

  11. ang Says:

    incredibl`e

  12. Jason Says:

    Painstaking! But absolutely stunning.

  13. Michael Mahan Says:

    That’s crazy, in a good way, I mean. I’d be afraid that I’d get too much in my brush and it would drip, ruining the effect. Has that ever happened?

    Michael

  14. Connie Norman Says:

    Hi Jim
    I totally relate. I have very similar poses myself, except I am holding either a piece of letterpress type or when I’m glazing an exacto blade. Some of my pieces take up 20 hours to finish, so I have to resume the pose many times. I wish I were ambidextrous so I could work out both of my arms. But alas, only one arm gets the benefits ceramic yoga. Your pots are beautiful, keep up the excellent work!!
    Connie

Leave a Reply

