What A Difference A Day Makes…

Twenty four little hours/Brought the sun and the flowers/Where there used to be rain… yea Dinah Washington. So Sofia and I went out for our morning walk with the dog and I took the camera in anticipation of giant puddles only slightly diminished. Much to her dismay this was pretty much all we found on the puddle front…

sofia

According to the radio report I heard Louisville had 6+ inches of rain in one hour the other day and the Municipal Sewer District dude on the radio was saying that no sewer system in America could handle that much water and that the underground pipes all over town would have to be a wide as the streets above them. Personally, I abhor the need for municipal individuals to have to have press conferences after unnatural natural occurrences to defend their responses to things that rarely happen or were never foreseen to happen. One year Louisville got 18″ of snow in one night and a freezing rain the next day. It closed the city for days and the road crews didn’t clear the roads because it was impossible. Louisville never gets that much snow and to be prepared for it would be about the same as Orlando being prepared to get 18″ in one day. Consequently, every time there’s a hint of flurries in the air, the city sends salters and sanders out and they sit all day in trucks with their engines running under overpasses clearly so they can say they were ready at the press conference that never comes. This obsession with blame on the city level amazes me especially in contrast to the lack of obsession with blame on the national level, but I digress. Here’s the bowl I finished applying resist to yesterday… I might be able to fire a bisque tonight or tomorrow…

greenware

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “What A Difference A Day Makes…”

  1. gary Says:

    Mud between toes = priceless 🙂

  2. soubriquet Says:

    Squish Squish….
    I’m still trying to figure out what you’re doing with that decoration. Don’t tell, I like a mystery. I have a blue mug with a fascinating glaze/slip crackle interaction going on, I’ve been puzzling for years as to the process, but resisting attempts to get a definitive answer. I think he slips his pots, glazes them to a low, immature glaze temp, so the glaze crackles, the, he rubs them with pigmented slip, so it seeps into the crackles, and refires to mature the glaze.

    So I look at your pics and try to figure it out, knowing that it looks like a lot of hard work, rewarded by a very distinctive, individual, finished item.
    Definitely not pots that melt into the crowd.

    I have a Jim Gottuso pot, by the way.
    I might just blog it.
    I got some great surprises, I was going to say, you can’t imagine how exciting it is to unwrap a great pot, by someone who you think of as a far away friend, an unexpected gift. But I’ll bet you do know just how it feels.

    Squish-squish!

  3. ang Says:

    that’s a good looking bowl….can i say the best nread calligraphy ever..

  4. andrewwiddis Says:

    I’m not going to make bowls anymore. Yours are just getting bigger and bigger; you win!
    You keep me inspired, well done.

Leave a Reply

