Glaze Sloshin’ Comin’…

I think I have enough bisqueware for two glaze firings and that’s what I’ll be doing this week. The bisque came out fine with a couple pieces that have great potential. Today won’t be too productive though, probably spend most of it sorting out pieces and trying to decide which glazes go with which pots. Then, tantara please… Mom and I and two friends are going to dinner and a concert. This will be the first time since Sofia’s been born that she will be spending the night away from us. Although I don’t really relish that thought so much, it will be novel to actually go out and not hurry home. So we’re gonna put Sunglasses in a kitchen chair and duct tape her paws to the chair’s legs and tape her mouth shut like they do with hostages in movies. Then we are going to see the Decemberists and I cannot wait. I’ve been waiting my whole life to find a band that plays music like this or should I say writes music like this. I was introduced to them late after they had already released 5 CD’s (how out of touch is that?) and now I have them all and think they’re all great. Anyway, it should be fun fun fun and here’s one of those bisque pots with potential…

bisque

bisque

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “Glaze Sloshin’ Comin’…”

  1. Miri Says:

    Killer design. I love the abstractness of it all and look forward to seeing it glazed. Maybe b/c I grew up in the middle east, the pattern reminds me of decorative Arabic calligraphy (e.g., see http://www.flickr.com/photos/17957252@N07/2213070490).

    • jim Says:

      hi miri… very cool picture, i love arabic calligraphy and i’m glad you zeroed in on one of the things i’m inspired by.

  2. Alex Says:

    You’re gonna love seeing the Decemberists. I am still kicking myself for missing them when they played here in Ithaca! Had to wait almost a year to catch them in Rochester. Have fun on your night out.

  3. gary Says:

    Mmmm, whatta bowl…..
    your dawg will probably eat the refrigerator whole…..

  4. Gordo Says:

    Ahh, the first night away. Can be stressful, but it’s good for all concerned to get away from each other now and again. 🙂

  5. Allen Says:

    Our first night out we came home early. It was a real weird experience. Our son was fine. He did not want to come home with us. His grandma spoils him rotten. Whipped cream for dinner.

  6. ang Says:

    poor sunglasses, you took me back to ‘a fish called wanda’ moment…just don’t stuff chips ‘fries’ with sauce up his nose…heheheeh

  7. Eugene Hon Says:

    Not this is not possible – how do you get those surfaces. they are too complex for words – yes I have to agree Miri I cant wait to see them glazed.

    They also remind me of Arabic text and or decoration – the first time a saw it, I thought it was.
    Anyway cant wait for the firing.

  8. Melynn Says:

    That surface is incredible. I’d love to see what it looks like once glazed. You do beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

