Photography Schmotography…

That’s just another way of saying a pox on ye photography and I used that title twice already. Maybe I just need a better attitude going into it. Lighting drives me batty. Maybe tomorrow. Here’s a couple trying to get the light right without the proper background.

bowl

bowlBowl came out nice though… if only I could convey it through photography.

Tags: , , ,

11 Responses to “Photography Schmotography…”

  1. Alex Says:

    Hey Jim… wanna come do a lighting workshop? Seriously. I would be happy to help you get your images where you want them. It isnt hard or expensive. But it can make a world of difference. When do you get time off? Do you have a down season?

    Lighting is mostly about moving the light,.. bouncing it, diffusing it. Asking nicely for it to behave.

    • jim Says:

      i would love to do a lighting workshop but alas, not in my budget plus i don’t have a down season. going on my first vacation in 5 years in a while and then back at it. i think i do understand the basics it’s probably has more to do with trying to do it on the cheap. i read your post today and when you started mentioning filtering light etc., that reminds me that my camera is not that sophisticated and i’m way down the learning curb there.

  2. Miri Says:

    Do you have access to a photo editing program such as Photoshop? Even without a fancy (or PVC…) light tent, you can use an editing program to “clean” up photos quite easily (e.g., by adjusting the “curves”). Obviously, the more even the lighting the better (its hard to get rid of a “bright” spot), but its a start. I emailed you an example using one of your images. Its easier to do when you know what the pot really looks like (so can keep the colors true) but hopefully an illustration of the magic of adjusting curves.

  3. gary Says:

    I am not a perfectionist of course, and what you did looks like a pretty good start to me!

  4. meredith Says:

    It is the hardest part of the job.
    Some folks seem to have the knack for it.
    Then there is me….

  5. Matt Says:

    Did you just mention the lighting? Because I was totally enjoying the pictures, and thinking to myself, “wow, what a great bowl.” But then, BAM!!! this whole other topic comes up… Now I can’t stop analyzing the lighting. Just while writing this little blurb, I’ve probably scrolled back up to the pictures about a dozen times. Is there medication for this? I know this sounds like a Henny Youngman joke, but, take my wife… she is capable of cooking a masterpiece, but she will inevitably mention some insignificant part of the meal or the presentation that wasn’t perfect. Mind you, until she mentions it, (“too much shrimp””not enough fennel””wrong color napkins”) I am in food nirvana. But then, of course, I too obsess on the fact that the little umbrellas in the punch goblets are powder blue, and not sea foam green to compliment the kiwi fruit, or something equally irrelevant. Oh, yeah… nice bowl and everything.

  6. ang Says:

    na keep it natural jim, shoot by a window with some cross light from the other side…keep it simple..bowls looking yum as always..

  7. Peter Says:

    My camera’s almost forgotten how to focus … It is a 2001 vintage Kodak digital camera with 2 Megapixels which the original box says is “Great for 8 x 10 pictures”… those were the days! My camera can’t handle focusing on shino glazes, or anything that has a “soft” look. It used to manage OK. Anyway, “I feel your pain”, as they say, regarding photography.

    Regarding Photoshop and the like, as that seems to have come up in comments, I use PCLinuxOS as an operating system(which is free), and normally attempt to rescue my photos with either Gimp or Digikam, both wonderful free open source programs.

  8. Peter Says:

    I meant to also add that your work is brilliant. I really love what you are doing with your “etching” process, and your use of glazes.

  9. John Shirley Says:

    Lighting schmighting. The bowl is really amazing. I admire the way you are using the etching technique.

Leave a Reply

