The Hound Of The Baskervilles (Louisville?)…

Due the wonderfully temperate summer we’ve had this year, we have sleeped with the windows open ever night since April. Last night at 3:30 a.m. and again at 4:10 a.m. I was awakened (the second time I wasn’t awakened as much as just startled again) by this unbelievably loud bark/howl. The first time I wasn’t even sure it was a dog as it sounded like some hellish monster. At first I thought it was my imagination because it didn’t wake Sofia or Mom or even Sunglasses who was snoozing next to me on the bed. But it was real because it set off a wave both times like when everyone stands in the stadium except that this wave was a wave of barks from dogs and of course the second time it happened I wasn’t asleep. This got me thinking about all you lucky rural people who live farther apart from each other than us urbanites. How bad could it be right? I mean I love dogs… BUT, if I just count the 2 houses next to me on either side, the 2 across the street and the 2 across the alley, there are currently 17 dogs and that doesn’t include Sunglasses. Of those, 13 are incessant barkers, most during the day but some at night. This is not certain days, it’s every day. The 4 across the alley (2 in each yard) are kept in fenced yards that are smaller than my studio and are out mostly all day when it’s warm enough and will bark at anything that moves… a fluttering leaf, the burp of a butterfly, when an ant sets down a morsel of food. Some of these dogs are left outside all day while the owners are at work. Anyway, with this many dogs, the wave of barking was quite an event and I’m still not sure what evil creature made that really loud noise. Here’s a bowl I’ve been working on…

greenware

greenware

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “The Hound Of The Baskervilles (Louisville?)…”

  1. Miri Says:

    Love the bowl. Is Keith Haring one of your influences? Can’t wait to see that beauty glazed!

  2. meredith Says:

    Yes- about those baking dogs.
    We stayed at the B&B in Asheville and the first night we had the windows open. About 5 there was the saddest sound I have ever heard from a dog. Low and sad- it broke my heart and it set off every dog who could hear it and then there was the 5:30 train…………….
    The next night windows closed, A/C on and we did not hear everything outside until I got up and went in the bathroom- the poor dog was making his sad song- it breaks my heart to hear an animal which I can only imagine was tied out. So sad….
    For us we wake up when the birds do and they are sleeping in the last few weeks.
    Now go on line and look up a device call: stop-dog-bark- I have one- it works if you can point it right at the dog.
    Does not harm them, but stops what ever they are doing at the time.
    sleep well- you need energy for the bowls!

  3. gary Says:

    Penny can be horribly LOUD which is why I bend over backwards to keep her quiet and be a polite neighbor. She is adorable at least.
    Your bowl is adorable too!

  4. Mark Kane Says:

    In some novel by Saul Bellow, who wrote about people and almost nothing else, almost always in Chicago, deep in the city and the politics and the players, there’s a line, just a line, about a dog, just one, down the street, at night, barking. Somehow that one line says almost everything about our incomprehension of the world we find ourselves in.

    Beauiful pot.

  5. Becky Jo Says:

    A barking dog is no fun but just about every night we get a pack of coyotes that runs through our property and into the field to the north. Sometimes they just howl and yap, other times they get into a big fight and it’s a freaky noise. I was out running at dusk one night and could hear them… I ran faster.

  6. vernon town Says:

    Jim, I like the opened up design. I do see the Haring similarities but I doubt its an influence. Also thanks for the positive remarks about my work.
    VT

Leave a Reply

