Close Call…

I’ve had some bowls that have been larger in diameter and taller too lately. Earlier I had done some bowls that had quite a bit of visual activity on the exterior but they were not as tall and I went into one of the places here locally that have my wares displayed and the bowl was down below my waist on a low shelf. The salesperson said not many people had given it much notice and I thought… well, if you want to sell it, put it high enough so you can see what’s going on without picking it up. Well, this is really my fault and not theirs because the bowl is fine in some circumstances but the work put into it goes unnoticed depending on the positioning of the piece. In short, if you’re looking down at it, it just looks like a relatively plain bowl… all this to say that I started making taller more vertical bowls so that the fact that the exterior is decorated is obvious. As a dipper (I dip my pots in glaze), this led to a situation where the amount of glaze (the puddle I’m dipping into) had to be greater to be able to submerge the taller piece. Anyway, I had saved my bigger bowls until now and last week while the kiln was firing I mixed mini batches of some glazes to augment the just slightly shallow puddles I have now. Yesterday I was rarin’ to go so I started sieving my first glaze from 3 different containers into the large plastic container with rope handles that I got just for this but that Mom uses whenever she’s doing yard work. I had the thing half full probably around 10 gallons and was sieving more when I looked over and saw the lovely fudge colored glaze seeping across the floor like the gooey fake blood that seeps from beneath a murder victim in the movies.

glazespill

I bolted up to look (it was around the back side of the container from where I was situated) and a crack was opening and 3 wee streams of glaze were spurting out on my floor. I instantly had the horrible vision of the crack being much larger and just giving way and having 10 gallons of glaze on my floor which is only bare plywood with seams to the underside that had been recently insulated. I managed to hold the flap closed and decant the glaze into smaller containers. Here’s the crack, after inspection I doubt it would have gotten bigger as it probably was the result of a rake or shovel being jammed into it.

glazespill

Off to Home Depot to get another gardening container with strap handles (one that Mom cannot use) which set me back a bit but not as long as I thought it would. The day went like that pretty much to the end, I kept brushing against things (freshly glazed things) and dinging cups by accident and dealing with my poor eyesight all day. When we were putting the bug to bed, right before the 2 stories I tell her every night, she started horsing around and rammed her head into my mouth and split my lip open. I suspect I will get into a better groove today. Mid afternoon, my brother Ken called… he’s in Lexington and coming over to see us. He had tried to warn me with email days ago but had some techie problems and tried to call me but we were having some phone problems. Ken showed up at 9:30 and we went to Sergio’s which was relatively quiet since it was later on a Monday. Here’s Sergio blissfully surrounded by beer…

sergio

We had a good 3 hours of conversation and closed the place a bit after 12 and Ken got up at 6 to drive to Lexington and have coffee with his daughter before she headed off to class and he back to New York. Here’s Ken with a Bell’s Two-Hearted Ale and that familiar happy face that beer causes.

kenny

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “Close Call…”

  1. Ben Says:

    Yikes! That would have been a very nasty and expensive mess had it all let loose. Beer is good for lip injuries, right?

  2. zygote Says:

    Bad day… good day… hopefully the teetertotter tips

  3. cindy shake Says:

    Yikes! Hopefully the planets will align and the cosmos will throw you a bone today!

    You bring up such an important point in good merchandising. At some openings and galleries, I want to shout out loud “PEDESTAL’S PEOPLE!!” Probably my grinch with the whole display issue is when a Gallery uses my work as display props (putting too high, stuck in plants or surrounded with lot’s of other work) making in difficult for the customer to see that it’s actually FOR SALE!

  4. gary Says:

    gawdangit, Louisville is obviously heaven–except for the snakes…..all that beer!

  5. meredith Says:

    oh- that happened to me years ago! I was alone with a full 20 gallons of black glaze when it sprung a leak! Yikes is right!
    I had to grab 5 gallon buckets as fast as I could until the bucket was empty.
    What a mess!
    I hope things get better- but remember beer brings it all back to good.
    And family- they are the best!

  6. soubriquet Says:

    As your pics make clear, these bowls need to be displayed at or above eye level to do them justice.
    Some people who sell, of course, don’t care too much what what, why, or where, so long as THEY are getting sales. But it’s disheartening to see your pieces in a jumbled display, badly lit, obscuerd by something else, it’s GRRRR! maddening.
    Whereas a really good gallery person will take care to do it right.

  7. soubriquet Says:

    I see the split glaze and split lip made it necessary for you to imbibe Beeeeer!

    I was out last night myself, at the Hunters Inn, where I had a couple of pints of a darkish and very tasty ale by The Salamander Brewing Company. Mmmmmm.

  8. Diablo con queso Says:

    I guess he takes after your mom?

  9. michael Says:

    I had a ten gallon bucket “open” up at the wrong moment during my glazing last week. I put a heavy duty garbage bag in there and that worked fine. It saved me some time and the cost of a new bucket. Of course, I have to be really careful if I use my jiffy mixer! 😉

Leave a Reply

