Iowa Trip (Day 1)…

On day 1 of my Iowa travelogue which was last Monday the main activity for the day was driving to Iowa in which I made very good time, leaving at 9 here and arriving at AKAR gallery in Iowa City around 3:30. Of course the time had changed from eastern to central so it’s always a bit surprising on arrival. Anyway I delivered my pots and met Cliff who does the photography and is the face behind their Facebook and Twitter presence online. He was very nice and gave me a quick tour of their photography area which made me envious of the setup he had to work with. Sanjay and Jigna, who really love pots, were not there because they have moved the architecture part of their business to another location. After leaving the pots downstairs I wandered around and took some pictures… the gallery is not huge but there are tons of pots by many of our favorite potters.

AKAR

AKAR

AKAR

And then there were the yunomis… a whole wall of them.

AKAR

The fun part was seeing pots that I’d seen many pictures of but never had the opportunity to see in person like these beauties of Michael Kline, they were up high so I didn’t get to pick them up though…

AKAR

Then I turned around and saw these Jeff Campana pieces…

AKAR

Here’s a huge John Glick platter…

AKAR

I really liked this one too…

AKAR

After this short visit, I hit the road again and made it to Des Moines in another hour or so. I stayed at my very good friend Ig’s house, which had been renovated since the last time I visited. We ate good food, drank wine and had good conversation for the next 3 days as we had much to catch up on. I used to visit every year around October and haven’t been able to since the bug was born but I think a 2 year hiatus is too long. While I was there, we were talking about our eyesight woes since we both do a lot of up close work and need strong reading glasses. When Ig started teaching at Drake, he was a metalsmithing professor and has long since given up the metalsmithing for painting so he gave me these jeweler’s glasses that have magnifying glasses in them. Of course as soon as Sofia saw them she had to give them a test drive.

sofia

Tags: , , ,

15 Responses to “Iowa Trip (Day 1)…”

  1. zygote Says:

    Wow! What a cool gallery! That’s a whole lotta work to pack into one space. Hip to lip with the cream of the crop.
    Glad you had a safe trip Jim. It’s good to see you back.

  2. ron Says:

    Wow! Great you got to stop in there. Sarah and I were there several years ago before they moved into the new space.

  3. Cindy G. Says:

    Beautiful Gallery. I recognized a couple artist’s work. Very cool.

  4. kyle Says:

    WOW, Im jealous of the AKAR gig…love that place…great model for online gallery in ceramics. Thanks for posting the pics!

  5. Becky Jo Says:

    Ok, so where is this gallery in Iowa City? My friend Marti Mae is coming for a visit in December and we’re going to Cedar Rapids, Mount Vernon and every cool place in between. I’d love to stop in and check out that gallery! πŸ™‚

  6. Becky Jo Says:

    Found it! πŸ˜€

  7. ang Says:

    yey road trip….

  8. gary Says:

    You’re in AKAR? You are forking HAWT my man. πŸ™‚

  9. claytastic Says:

    Congrats on being in AKAR. Sounds like a great trip. I’m not sure how you left the gallery, it looks amazing.

  10. Amanda Barr Hawkins Says:

    HOW HAVE I NOT BEEN THERE???? I have only lived here in Ames for a while (well, 3 years), but haven’t managed to visit AKAR yet. Guess where we’re making a road trip to later this year??? DROOL!!!

    You came at a good time- it warmed up a bit this week. Now it’s just raining nonstop. boo.

  11. Miri Says:

    Congrats. That place looks amazing.

  12. Charles the Potter Says:

    I am completely blown away by how many pieces they have managed to fit into that space. What a selection.

  13. Mark Kane Says:

    Part of the Iowa jaunt was a shared dinner at Ignatius’s house. Wonderful food and converstation. Email is a thin way to stay in touch compared to an evening of wine and talk.

  14. judi tavill Says:

    OH BOY OH BOY… IOWA BECKONS!!!! YUM!

  15. Amy H Says:

    wow… beautiful yunomis! thanks…

Leave a Reply

