And People Think I Decorate Too Much…

I have to restate that I’m not much for holidays… that being said Halloween is the least unpleasant for me and of course now that I’m a Dad of a 4 year old the fun is watching the bug have fun. I can tell from some comments that some may thing me more clever than I really am by suggesting that I concocted the tale in the previous two posts like a Halloween zealot might do… but I didn’t and I have nothing more to report and hopefully will not have anything more to report. As far as what I can do, I have no idea as no one has seen any foul play, we’re just putting two and two together. Remaining vigilant is all I can do at this point. There is a street near my home named Hillcrest which is a mere 3 blocks long and it is the location of a certain Halloween insanity that runs amok every year now. Not sure how long ago it started but it seems to grow every year. The people on this street go all out for Halloween decorations much like some neighborhoods get a bit carried away with xmas decorations if you live in the city. The participation rate is unbelievably high and I’ve often said in recent years that probably many people don’t (or do) buy houses here because of the felt obligation to participate. Two years ago we took Sofia in a stroller over there on Halloween and the police had closed off the streets and we literally could barely move in the crowd. Last weekend and the weekend before I took Sofia over during the day and here’s what we saw… this first house, the owner was out front and I asked him how long it took him to prepare each year. He said 6 weeks, to which I said… you mean 6 weekends, Saturdays and Sundays? He said, no, all day, everyday…

hillcrest

Six weeks… all I could think was that if I were him, I’d dread mid-September and decry how quickly it came around. He actually built a false, rickety facade to his house that matches the house proper… where does he store all this stuff? I don’t even have closet space at my house. Here’s some more…

hillcrest

hillcrest

hillcrest

Here’s a closeup of the previous house’s front yard toilet to hell… the light was too bright out but there’s actually a pump in the commode that pumps red liquid out of the skeleton’s mouth.

hillcrest

Here’s a plane crashing into a house…

hillcrest

Someone had the alien abduction theme…

hillcrest

Here’s one of Sofia’s favorites… the pirate skeleton has a motion detector in it and when she got close it started dancing and singing a perverted version of Rick James’ “Superfreak”.

hillcrest

This other person has a stage built off of his house with 4 of the same type of automatons as the pirate. His theme is disco and when we went a couple years ago disco music plays loudly and these 4 “robotic” dancers go all night long…

hillcrest

Finally, here’s pumpkin butt, another of Sofia’s favorites. She kept yelling from the other side of the road, there’s punkin’ butt, there’s punkin’ butt.

hillcrest

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “And People Think I Decorate Too Much…”

  1. gary Says:

    SUPERFREAK yay! I saw the first house and I was thinking “great house except for all the junk in the yard”.

  2. meredith Says:

    I have seen houses like tis and not even on Halloween…..
    Love it and wish we could go see it in person!

  3. cindy shake Says:

    Sort of like the over-the-top Christmas light house tours… creates waaay too much traffic for my taste but people really get into those things. We invited friends down to Alyeska Resort’s Halloween party this weekend and they said they couldn’t “because they couldn’t possibly think of leaving the culdesac where they live because all the neighbors really get into decorating and giving out candy and the pressure of not being home would be too much!” That kind of neighborhood pressure isn’t any fun I don’t think.

    When I saw the first image, I thought what Gary said -ha! I wouldn’t have the energy for it every year but I do think it’s really cool though -bet it’s even spookier at NIGHT! woooo-hoooooo Gus would love it!

  4. Miri Says:

    “Looks messy” seems to be the theme for the first photo (Nick said the same). LOVE the plane and, I have to admit, I’m with Sofia re the pumpkin butt! If I had more pumpkins in the garden, I’d make one quickly for our 4 trick-or-treaters! πŸ™‚

  5. Cindy G. Says:

    Oh that is so great!!!! I would love to bring my Grandkid’s by for trick or treat πŸ™‚

  6. Michael Says:

    Must be something in the water.

  7. Peter Says:

    Hi Jim,
    My wife is laughing so much at those photos that I think I might have to take her to the hospital! I do like the “louse that flew too low and hit our house” I might put one of those on ours to be there all year round!

  8. Jasper Says:

    TOTALLY AWESOME!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

