Man, That Dude Is A Total Pothead…

dad

I was coming home from running some errands yesterday and Mom snapped this picture of me wearing my new hat. Actually, there’s a store in town called the Spice Merchant that Sofia and I go. I like it because it has tons of spices, teas and teapots and Sofia likes it because the owner, Linda, gives her a tea mint whenever we go in. Anyway, she asked me to put some pieces there and see how they do over the holidays and she asked me to make one of those little “table tents?”, you know a piece of paper folded in the middle to set by the pots with a statement, a picture and “Made in Kentucky” on it. I don’t have any good pictures of myself mostly because I don’t have Sofia’s photogenic-ness (photogenicity?) but also because I’m the only one in the house that doesn’t struggle with the focus of the camera. In addition, I’ve made the mistake in the past of posing in a studio setting and they always come out looking stodgy. Some of my friends refer to the picture of me that’s on the AKAR site as “the child molester” picture. Anyway I didn’t use the one above because at best it seemed a bit obtuse and at worst the racially oversensitive might think I was making fun of the Asian workers that built our railroads. Here’s the one I did use and Linda giggled and said it was cute so that’s probably a good indication of how it will be received…

dad

Tags: , , ,

11 Responses to “Man, That Dude Is A Total Pothead…”

  1. Miri Says:

    Awesome pot-waving photo. Of course I had to go check out the “molester” photo (you could have provided a link to save us all some time you know!). Boy that AKAR website is gonna be a time-eater! What an amazing group of artists! And your photo? Yes, hmmm…. Send them the pot-waving one!

  2. Matt Says:

    Did you think about using the photo where you were dressed up as a girl in graduate school? Were you Daphne or Sugar?

    • jim Says:

      i think i was daphne, yes? i didn’t think of that but there’s always the future. maybe i should use your picture with the moustache… the only reason for the little tents is to put a face with a name, no one would know. plus that pic of you would sell some pots!

  3. kyle Says:

    Good choice…go with it, dude…tipping the bowl’er hat…

  4. Barbara Edwards Says:

    That’s a darn friendly photo – doffing your pot in greeting. The juxtaposition of the elegance of your bowl and the jaunty, casual way it is being used is very fun. I can imagine the action continuing with a flourish and a bow.

  5. Mark Kane Says:

    Good photo. Hope your p.f. is going away.

  6. meredith Says:

    yep! It works for me.
    I like what Barbara said!

  7. jenmecca Says:

    Wow…now I’m curious about the OTHER photo! The new one looks good. Its so hard to get a really good “pottery” glamour shot, isn’t it?
    Happy Halloween. Jen

  8. gary Says:

    JIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIM! šŸ™‚

  9. Patricia Griffin Says:

    Good pics!

Leave a Reply

