Black Beauties…

I believe these are 10th century black beauties. They’re all from China and I snapped pics on my trip to my friend Ig’s house in Iowa. Sorry about the last pic but I shot it twice without my glasses on and it’s a bit blurry. The first one is the tallest one, probably around 30-32 inches tall and the rest are maybe an inch or two shorter but they’re large pots all the same. My fave of these is the first one because the black glaze is either matte or has had something happen in the past 1000 years to make it matte.

10th century black

10th century

10th century

10th century

Apparently the collectors of these pots refer to the ones that have a rounder, fuller form as the females and pair them up with the less rounder, fuller ones that are supposedly males. I’m sick and pretty pissed about it… I haven’t been sick since last November and was just starting to get uppity about going over a year without getting sick. Anyway, not sure how long it’s gonna last… it’s not as bad as I’ve been on other occasions but I’m not sure it’s full on yet. Here’s a couple fat mugs I posted to Etsy yesterday, first click goes to Etsy… the other enlarges.

cup

cup

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Black Beauties…”

  1. Jud Tavill Says:

    I love the bottom two! great glazes!

  2. gary Says:

    Your friend just has these wonderful art objects all over his house??? Bet he has neither pets nor kids…..

  3. Miri Says:

    Awesome pots (the old and the new). Hope you feel better! Being sick sucks.

  4. ron Says:

    Those are amazing jars!! I want one. Ha. Love the cups too, nice curves. I hope ya feel better soon.

  5. Barbara Edwards Says:

    Wonder what it would be like to live with those gorgeous, ancient pots? I’d be afraid of knocking one over.

    Being sick is so irritating. A November malady? Hope good health returns quickly.

  6. ang Says:

    take it easy you prob need a rest…put ya feet up for a day! lovely jars!! i do love a big pot..

  7. meredith Says:

    nice pots!
    I hope you were able to fondle one or two!

Leave a Reply

