Fighting Vainly That Old Ennui…

Gotta love Cole Porter. My biggest problem with being ill aside from the being ill is the absolute boredom. I’ve always been reduced to a total wimp… I can’t read, work, watch TV, certainly not play with the dog or the bug. My energy gets completely sapped. I suspect that this is not the case with others as I see other bloggers blogging away or Facebooking away when they’re sick and I can’t even bring myself to sit in front of the computer. Sofia actually said that she wished had “powers” (not sure where that came from) and that if she did, she would make it so I never got sick. My certainty about how wimpy I am when I get sick has been cemented by and always makes me think of Michael Jordan playing in a game 5 against Utah while he was sick. I’m not a big sports person anymore but I always loved watching Jordan and just happened to catch this game. He was so sick that he had to be helped off the court (way sicker than I’ve been) and still he somehow willed himself to outplay his opponents. It made me physically drained just watching it. That being said I must be on the mend because blogging has resumed but still yesterday I was unable to make it into the studio and it’s been calling me for a week now. The weather has been unbelievably pleasant for November and it would have been a productive and wonderfully comfortable week to have worked in the studio and I fear that once I get back to it I’ll be facing that winter clay phase with cold air, cold water and cold clay. So anyway, a whole day of boredom is equal to nothing but the boredom itself to acknowledge. I designed a new business card and signed up for Netflix and although I think I’m finally coming out of this thing, I’m not sure I will get to the studio today. There was one interesting thing that falls under the heading, “Things I Never Thought Would Be A Problem Even With A Child”… I have a relatively strong little magnet that’s in the shape of a disc that I’ve used for years (especially when I was remodeling all the time) to find studs in the old plaster walls of the house. I would just slide the magnet around on the surface of the wall until it stopped and that’s where a nail head would be just under the layer of plaster. Anyway, Sofia found the magnet and a screw and she’s been experimenting with them for a couple days, putting the screw on one side of a board or tabletop or rug, etc. and the magnet on the other side and making the screw move by moving the magnet. So after putting her to bed, going back downstairs and finally going back up to retire for the evening I saw a glint of shiny metal at the top of the stairs in the middle of the pathway from our bedroom to the bathroom (a path used at least once a night). Here’s what it was (photographed in daylight)…

magnet

Is this or is this not a plantar fasciitis sufferer’s worst booby trap nightmare? As Kurtz said… “the horror”. Here’s the latest cups posted to Etsy, first click to Etsy, the others enlarge…

cup

cup

cup

cup

Tags: , ,

14 Responses to “Fighting Vainly That Old Ennui…”

  1. gary Says:

    SOFIA no! My man, hope you are feelin’ better soon 🙂

  2. meredith Says:

    ouch! I stepped on a nail as a kid and I still remember the pain and a trip to the emergency room.
    That would be terrible.
    But- Love the greens of those mugs.
    Get better soon.

  3. klineola Says:

    Sounds like you might come out of this flu soon. I hope so.

    Is that one of those rare earth magnets? A good magnet is hard to find!

    • jim Says:

      hi michael, not sure about that… a friend gave it to me and he had about 20 of them and when they were stuck to each other it was everything we could do to free them up

  4. kellyTpottery Says:

    I hear ya on the being sick part. I’m so friggin bored that today, I have decided to work in the studio for at least a little while. Whatever I make might be a total waste as I am seeing everything through a fog, but I can’t handle sitting around anymore. As for the screw, wow, that would really top off your day, stepping on that! and it wouldn’t even pull out easily due to the threads! Good thing you saw that glint of metal…

  5. Miri Says:

    Ouch! As another person with a childhood memory of stepping on a nail, I feel your almost pain. I’m impressed you saw it: I have the nasty habit of never looking where I’m going. But that is indeed one impressive magnet!

    You hit the nail on the head, btw, regarding “The League of Gentlemen”. “Funny and strange” (often very very strange) is their hallmark. Very good series though, if one enjoys that type of humor.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  6. Michael Kline Says:

    Have you tried putting onions in your socks? Serious!

  7. Michael Kline Says:

    sorry, I hope you will indulge me…

    The Power of the Old Remedies of days Gone By;
    >
    >
    > A friend of mine told me a story about how when he was a kid he was in the
    > hospital & near dying. His Italian grandmother came to the hospital &
    > told a family member to go buy her a large onion & a new pair of white
    > cotton socks. She sliced the onion open then put a slice on the bottom of
    > each of his feet & put the white cotton socks on him. In the morning when
    > he awoke they removed the socks. The slices of onion were black & his
    > fever was gone. The following story that someone sent to me might have
    > some truth in it & we are going to try it this winter.
    >
    > In 1919 when the flu killed 40 million people there was this Doctor that
    > visited the many farmers to see if he could help them combat the flu.
    > Many of the farmers and their family had contracted it and many died.
    >
    > The doctor came upon this one farmer and to his surprise, everyone was
    > very healthy. When the doctor asked what the farmer was doing that was
    > different the wife replied that she had placed an unpeeled onion in a
    > dish in the rooms of the home, (probably only two rooms back then). The
    > doctor couldn’t believe it and asked if he could have one of the onions
    > and place it under the microscope. She gave him one and when he did
    > this, he did find the flu virus in the onion. It obviously absorbed the
    > bacteria, therefore, keeping the family healthy.
    >
    > Now, I heard this story from my hairdresser in AZ. She said that several
    > years ago many of her employees were coming down with the flu and so were
    > many of her customers. The next year she placed several bowls with
    > onions around in her shop. To her surprise, none of her staff got sick.
    > It must work.. (And no, she is not in the onion business.)
    >
    > The moral of the story is, buy some onions and place them in bowls around
    > your home. If you work at a desk, place one or two in your office or
    > under your desk or even on top somewhere. Try it and see what happens.
    > We did it last year and we never got the flu.
    >
    > If this helps you and your loved ones from getting sick, all the better.
    > If you do get the flu, it just might be a mild case.
    >
    > Whatever, what have you to lose? Just a few bucks on onions!!!!!!
    > !!!!!!!!

  8. ang Says:

    ha! i thought the onions in ya socks was so you wouldnt step on the screw!!! silly me!!

  9. Barbara Edwards Says:

    I really love the color of your floors under the creative but potentially painful little tower! I still remember it from the posting when Sunglasses chewed through it down to the bare wood.

    Beautiful mugs!

    I hope Sofia’s powers are realized and she zaps you right into good health. For me, I’m buying some onions

  10. Patricia Griffin Says:

    If you wore Michael’s onion slices under your feet, you wouldn’t have to worry about stepping on screws… Hey, nice mugs!

  11. soubriquet Says:

    Workboots by the bed from now on, with stainless steel midsole protection.
    Our labourer at work has been told a million times not to leave nailed timbers lying on the floor when ripping down drywall studding. Unfortunately, he ignores most instructions.
    I have often found myself firmly attached to planks, luckily, I have a strict policy of wearing tough workboots… But not in the home, during a half-asleep excursion in what should be a safe zone.

    I love magnets though, I can play with them for hours.
    I’m not sure I believe the onion cure, though garlic is allegedly very effective in warding off infections.

  12. eugene hon Says:

    I have been rather busy – down to Cape Town and had to catch up with admin work and a conference report (now due) and today for the first time visit blogs. Then I encountered your latest entry. Trust you will get better soon. Make sure you you eat well. My god reading your entries and comments is like a full-time job. You think you get to a full-stop and then it uncovers a wealth of information that goes on and on and on. Love the green mug (well is it turquoise), form, shape and the colour of the glaze. Especially the handle’s proportion in relation to the shape of the mug. The shapes of the others remind me too much of the pewter beer mugs – some with glass in the bottom. I,m more drawn to the ceramic forms than metal. Get better soon

  13. pru Says:

    jim, your comments are as interesting as your posts!
    yeah get well soon too , cough & spit !

Leave a Reply

