Crawlin’ King Snake…

No, not referring to John Lee’s song. You know after a long 9 or 10 days of the flu or whatever it is, it’s nice to get back on your feet again. I could tell the night before last that I wouldn’t be completely better yesterday but well enough where I could go into the studio and start putzing around, wedging clay, straightening up to start throwing, cleaning the glaze off the floor. Well, instead of telling you what happened, what does this picture elicit in your mind… my reward for toughing it out,

snake

This is the snake in question although it’s official name is the Electric Eel. You may remember this post where I describe one of the most awful things a homeowner has to do… well, not sure if it’s because we had so much rain that the roots grew back extra fast or that 3 months ago I didn’t quite get it done sufficiently but either way I have endured my punishment and I’ll do everyone the favor of not having any pictures of myself drenched. Uuuuugh! I’m starting to develop a complex as the ceramics blogger with the most and most disgusting plumbing problems. When the realization set in that that’s what I was going to have to do yesterday, I just thought… go ahead and shoot me now. I’m still not quite better but good enough to start getting some work done today. Michael Kline over at Sawdust and Dirt blog commented about a folk flu remedy and instead of me paraphrasing, I’m just gonna paste it in here…

The Power of the Old Remedies of days Gone By;

A friend of mine told me a story about how when he was a kid he was in the hospital & near dying. His Italian grandmother came to the hospital & told a family member to go buy her a large onion & a new pair of white cotton socks. She sliced the onion open then put a slice on the bottom of each of his feet & put the white cotton socks on him. In the morning when he awoke they removed the socks. The slices of onion were black & his fever was gone. The following story that someone sent to me might have some truth in it & we are going to try it this winter.

In 1919 when the flu killed 40 million people there was this Doctor that visited the many farmers to see if he could help them combat the flu. Many of the farmers and their family had contracted it and many died. The doctor came upon this one farmer and to his surprise, everyone was very healthy. When the doctor asked what the farmer was doing that was different the wife replied that she had placed an unpeeled onion in a dish in the rooms of the home, (probably only two rooms back then). The doctor couldn’t believe it and asked if he could have one of the onions and place it under the microscope. She gave him one and when he did this, he did find the flu virus in the onion. It obviously absorbed the bacteria, therefore, keeping the family healthy.

Now, I heard this story from my hairdresser in AZ. She said that several years ago many of her employees were coming down with the flu and so were many of her customers. The next year she placed several bowls with onions around in her shop. To her surprise, none of her staff got sick. It must work.. (And no, she is not in the onion business.) The moral of the story is, buy some onions and place them in bowls around your home. If you work at a desk, place one or two in your office or under your desk or even on top somewhere. Try it and see what happens. We did it last year and we never got the flu.

If this helps you and your loved ones from getting sick, all the better. If you do get the flu, it just might be a mild case. Whatever, what have you to lose? Just a few bucks on onions!!!!!!

Michael, next time I’m going to try this thing with the socks… sounds a bit squishy and icky but after you fall asleep what does it matter? I also really like any suggestion that calls for bowls in every room of the house and if you’re gonna put a bowl of onions in every room the bowls should probably be decorative, don’t you think?

Here’s the vase I posted to Etsy last, first click to Etsy and the other enlarges…

vase

vase

5 Responses to “Crawlin’ King Snake…”

  1. gary Says:

    mmmmmmmmm baby, what a pot!

  2. Barbara Edwards Says:

    Ugh, snaking (or eeling) pipes is not what you should have to do when you are just getting over the flu.

    Gorgeous shape, design, texture, and color on that pot.

  3. Peter Says:

    Hi Jim,
    So sorry to read that you have been so sick (I’ve been catching up on your last few posts). To be greeted with the prospect of dealing with “plumbing” on your shaky return to almost health is so unfair! We live in a building with roots in the old pipes too, and there are few jobs that I like least!
    I do love your friend Ig’s Chinese Pots, they have such a physical presence. I probably like the first best, like a tornado in shape, it is almost ugly.. but is dramatically beautiful. Your observations about your time in Italy are wonderful. I do hope you put your writing into a book one day.
    Best Wishes to you for a full return to health, and here’s hoping for reliable drains!

  4. zygote Says:

    Ok… I’ve got to add this just to add it. We eat a lot of onions…. which means we have alot of onions laying around the house… Hey were pigs… but we’ve been healthy pigs for the most part. The onions don’t seem to help my wife’s migraines though, but she does work at the county hospital and it’s been raining pig there, but it hasn’t migrated home yet. Maybe it’s all the onion, and maybe the garlic… oh yea, and the brussel sprouts…. yum!

  5. Patricia Griffin Says:

    Your pots are way too pretty for onions! (Though who knew that onions would be the new “wonder drug” to ward off flu… I may slice up a few around the house today!)

Leave a Reply

