There’s A Goose In The Kitchen…

I sat down to the computer this morning and glanced out the window to see a bunch of Canadian geese fly past (they live over at the reservoir) and it reminded me that the picture of Sofia on the kitchen table in yesterday’s post had a couple people wondering… what’s with the goose? Nothing really, an old friend of mine used to scour the bargain mart (the version in ny when i was growing up was called the pennysaver and i think both are suffering because of craigslist) every week to find people selling taxidermy-ed critters. He was only really interested in unusual ones though and eventually got a barracuda and even a hammerhead shark. Anyway, I think the guy with the shark had 2 Canadian geese, some mallard ducks and some other fish and said that if he wanted the shark, he had to buy them all… so he did. He was gonna get rid of everything except the shark and I was admiring the geese at his house one day so it was my xmas present that year.

This was a long time ago. This old house, like most old houses, has a much smaller kitchen than modern homes and we don’t have our refrigerator in the kitchen anymore to make room for a table but before I had a family it was there and I mounted the goose… let me rephrase, I hung the goose… no I attached the goose to the wall above the refrigerator. That evening I got up in the middle of the night and came downstairs to get a drink of water and didn’t turn on the lights and as I walked into the kitchen in the dark, I caught the specter of the goose in my peripheral vision as I entered and I about had a heart attack. Nowadays, we have all really forgotten that it’s there. An update on the wheel… I called Shimpo yesterday and talked to Yoshki (<-not sure about spelling or pronunciation). He is the designer of the VL-Whisper and his phone diagnosis was that there was either a scratch on a bearing or that some clay had gotten into the bearings. We talked for quite some time and he was helpful and pleasant. He is mailing out a new motor and it should arrive by Monday I think. It's interesting that Soubriquet over at Grit In The Gears blog correctly diagnosed the entire problem just from my brief description on yesterday’s post (as evidenced by the comments he left on that post) and what a coincidence that his blog is named exactly for what my problem is. Soubriquet is one of those mechanical whizzes and not only correctly diagnosed the problem but gave me a course of action to take if Yoshki hadn’t already decided to mail me a new motor. Thanks Soubriquet! I breathed a sigh of relief that this experience with Shimpo is not like the experience that Tracey Broome has been struggling with about some faulty equipment. If you have a hankerin’, head over to her blog… she does some beautiful raku work. From her descriptions of her interactions with customer service, I think that maybe they may have thrown the baby out with the bathwater and I’m glad that this is apparently not happening here. Anyway, assuming that replacing the motor goes off without a hitch, I should be up and running next week. It’s 2010.

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “There’s A Goose In The Kitchen…”

  1. Tracey Says:

    Hi Jim: So nice to hear some positive customer service stories! I think Shimpo is one of those companies that really has their s#*% together. Olympic and Axner, on the other hand DO NOT! I sent Axner another email and as of yet no reply, it is the holidays, so I will give them that, but it’s been since Nov. 11 and no one has done anything yet to resolve this, except basically call me a liar and suggest I don’t know what I am doing. Oh well, a new year, with many more things to think about!! Hope it’s a good one for you and your family!

  2. meredith Says:

    Becareful what you wish for?
    That goose would give me a heart attack!
    I knew a women who was dating someone who did taxidermy.
    He gave her a stuffed Squirrel.
    She looked at me and said, ” what do I do with this?’
    She married someone else.
    about customers service.
    It can be done well and it can be done poorly.
    Seems you are getting good srevice while Tracey is not.
    BUT_
    Happy New Year. I look forward to your post, pots and life with Sofia and Sunglasses!

    • Matt Says:

      I had a stuffed squirell named Sparky that I bought from an 8 year old vendor in Juarez from my table at a barbequed chicken shack. Ol’ Spark Plug was mounted with a guitar… and was the spittn’ image of Keith Richards.

  3. ron Says:

    Glad Shimpo was good to you. Like Meredith said in a comment recently, Where would we be without our customers. Shimpo knows this.

  4. Miri Says:

    Happy New Year Jim! As a fellow owner of the VL-Whisper, I’m glad to hear that Shimpo are taking care of you. I think we all take mental notes of the “good guys” when it comes to standing by their products when customers have issues (I can personally add L&L Kilns and Groovy Tools to the list).

  5. zygote Says:

    Glad to hear the wheel will be up again soon. Knock knock…
    Happy New Year!

  6. Barbara Edwards Says:

    Your goose looks like it could be rigged up to dispense something just like your moose. Something liquid from its beak.

    good luck with your new motor.
    and happy twenty ten.

  7. ang Says:

    glad the problem is solvered!!

  8. gary rith Says:

    That is a f##king cool goose, although a barracuda or shark would be fun too 🙂

Leave a Reply

