Practically Balmy And Definitely Busy…

Gonna be 45 degrees today. Once I started counted pieces and timing firings and trying to estimate how long it will take to decorate said pieces, a little panic set in. This is when working at home presents a challenge that working in a separate studio does not. I decided to skip the online thing yesterday and just get up and decorate. I was sitting here at this table painting resist before 8 with my Earl Grey and thinking how much I was gonna get done. I started to hear the shopvac at about 9 interrupting my serene Mozart wafting from the IMac. I thought, well Mom’s just vacuuming but then I heard another machine. I go downstairs and Mom is bringing in a rented rug cleaner and the only carpet in the house is the one under my feet. Mom has an ongoing war with the formerly white carpet that my ex-wife insisted on putting in almost 20 years ago (I lost that battle of common sense under the false premise that compromise would ensure a long and happy union… doh!). Sofia spilled something on it two years ago and it looks like someone spilled a large bucket of iron oxide stain on it. Mom thinks that bigger rug cleaners will work where smaller ones failed and I keep telling her that deciding it’s not a problem is a more effective route. Anyway, I have to vacate the upstairs because the rented cleaner is due back by 1:30… so I went to the bank and the hardware store for some silicone grease (thanks for the heads up Soubriquet) and that was the second place I went to. The first thing they ask is… what do you need it for? which translates to… I’ve never heard of that and I want to suggest using something else so that I can go back to daydreaming about quitting time. After lunch I set back at it with a damp but still wet carpet under my feet and a hour or so in, Sofia’s two cousins come in (Mom picks them up from school twice a week so I knew this was gonna happen). The three of them come upstairs and pandemonium ensues with little girl arguments and screaming and one of the cousins kept making this strange choking sound and even though I realized that she was entertaining the other two, every time I heard it, I felt like one might not be joking this time. They left around 5 and about 6 we ate dinner and I came back up around 7 to work and at 7:30 I had Sofia’s bedtime ritual which is me reading to her from 7:30 to 8-ish. Then downstairs to allow her to fall asleep… I never got back to it. Not complaining, merely trying to illustrate the difficulty of working in the house. Something happens like this everyday to a greater or lesser degree. Here’s some greenware I’ve been working on…

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “Practically Balmy And Definitely Busy…”

  1. Gordo Says:

    It’s not that warm up here, but we’re definitely in to the January thaw. My eldest and his Scout troop are going camping in it for the weekend. Instead of freezing kids, they’re going to have soaking wet ones.

    Kids do have a way of derailing the train of thought and work, don’t they? 🙂 Not that it’s necessarily a bad thing, but ….

  2. meredith Says:

    I know the feeling- even with a studio we get pushed off the track all the time. ( as you well know since I am here and not on my wheel!)
    Add a wee one in the house and well…..
    Then there is that sleep thing……
    Best it “getting it all done.”

  3. carole Says:

    way to sum up my days in a nutshell : )
    i think it just speaks volumes to how wonderful your work is that it can be so accomplished, unique and beautiful in spite of it all.

  4. gary rith Says:

    I know, working at home has its distractions alright, like all the racket and smell coming out of the cat box RIGHT NOW.

  5. Cindy Gilliland Says:

    Yep, It would be difficult to get work done on a crazy day like that. I have 3 of my grandkids today.. All I can hope to get done today is Breakfast, Lunch and the Meat Ball Movie 🙂 Ha!

  6. Ben Says:

    I totally know the feeling of somehow losing all of a day to little distractions. I haven’t made it out to the studio in two days!

  7. soubriquet Says:

    Still laughing, here.
    Oh the white carpet syndrome, the seeking of quiet whilst pandemonium surrounds. You have my sympathy.
    And your pots tell a story of focus, of attention to detail, patience. Are you mainlining valium? How else can you keep your cool?

  8. ang Says:

    wow its a challenge and white carpet really?? what were you thinking??? I’d just dye it!!!

  9. kellyTpottery Says:

    Oh MAN, do I ever know that feeling of trying to work at home with everyone around you! You just described my day perfectly! But what is the silicone grease for? And I get the “what are you going to use it for?” question ALL the time. What’s a woman in her 30s doing in Lowe’s anyway, looking for large boltcutters and steel rods? “Ma’am, what are you going to do with THAT?”

Leave a Reply

