I Got Royal Mail…

I was zoning out, doodling in my studio yesterday and jammin’ to “Giant Steps” (Coltrane) wondering when the mail was gonna get here. I took a break around two to stretch my cramped side and back… I looked out on the porch and there was this wee box sitting next to the mailbox. I brought the unassuming parcel in the studio and got really excited when I read that it contained Royal Mail as I’ve never received anything royal in my life (unless you count the royal pain in the ass dog we adopted) and am confident that royalty’s and my paths have ne’er crossed…

Oooh boy and it went through customs too (it’s from Grande-Bretagne!)…

Well, it was my secret santa from across the Atlantic… Matt Grimmitt!, and he sent me a beautiful slipware mug. Thank you very much Matt, this is my first international piece of clay. Check it out..

Matt Grimmitt is a wonderful slipware potter from England who literally has clay running in his blood as one of his ancestors a few generations back worked along side one of the biggies in the long English ceramics tradition. When I started my blog in February last year, Matt’s blog was one of the first that I followed and at the time had the catchy title of “Pots For the Kitchen From the Kitchen”… if you have a hankerin’ you can check out his work and other goings on at his new blog. Matt’s partner Antonia (Tiggy) also has a blog and she makes handmade soaps. So after a couple shots of my gift, I brewed up some Earl Grey and broke in my new mug and I must say that I really enjoyed the heft of it… it feels very good in my hand…

Thanks again Matt. In other affairs, I’m trying to make peace with the demon dog, Dingus. So I invited her in to lie next to me while I was painting on my greenware…

Aww, isn’t she precious? Actually, no, she isn’t… yet. Just when I thought we were making headway, she got up and instead of getting a drink from her dog bowl (which I checked and was full of water) she went in the bathroom and drank out of the commode (I guess she always checks there first). Then she came back in got up on the seat next to me and tried to lick my face. Aaaw, isn’t that cute?… trying to kiss dad with her fresh toilet mouth. We’re working on it.

8 Responses to “I Got Royal Mail…”

  1. gary rith Says:

    Holy cats, I got one from him too last fall and I LOVES IT! Why the heck does Ron live in NC, you live in KY, Matt lives in the UK and you all don’t live ON MY STREET????????????????????????????

  2. Alex Solla Says:

    WOW! Nice mug. That’s a sweet way to start the day.

    And GARY… you have plenty of potters down the street from you. I think Ithaca probably has the biggest concentration of potters outside of NC and MA. (That and massage therapists!)

  3. cindy shake Says:

    The handle on the mug is wonderful and your bowl is coming along nicely πŸ™‚ As for the pooch -breath mints??

  4. Matt Grimmitt Says:

    It got there, phew! Hey Jim, sorry it took so long to reach you and i’m so pleased you like it. Thanks so much for your kind words, I enjoy your blog alot, the goose post had myself and Tig laughing very loudly and your pots are amazing, the decoration blows me away everytime. Nice one Jim πŸ™‚

  5. Gordo Says:

    That mug is great! Good luck with Dingus. Somebody I follow on Twitter wrote this the other day: “When a doc licks your mouth, you’re kissing his butt by proxy.” πŸ˜‰

  6. Ben Stark Says:

    Sweet mug Jim! Gross alert!

    My dog used to eat her own poo and come in and attempt to lick me in the face! Eww.

  7. Patricia Griffin Says:

    Hello there, Royal Prince Jim!… Hey, your post about the pup is timely. The hubster and I were just talking about getting a puppy for Mae (our wonderful 3-year-old standard poodle) when your post gave us reason to pause. And then, the hubster says “Remind Jim that even if he teaches the dog to drink only from his bowl, he’ll still be licking Jim with the same doggie tongue he licks his butt with…” Men, jeesh.

  8. ang Says:

    hey there it is, noice one matt…..enjoy jim!!

Leave a Reply

