Colds Of Winter…

Well, up most of the night with the little bug… she’s a coughing, sneezing machine. I didn’t get much sleep so probably skip the computer shenanigans and head straight to the studio so I can get something done before the fatigue sets in. I don’t see how I’m gonna be able to dodge catching whatever this crud is that she’s gotten. It’s colder than a well digger’s ass again. I put together some funky vases yesterday again… maybe I will add some adornment today, not sure. Here’s a black and white shot…

Bug days tomorrow and Sunday and then it’s February… damn, that 1/12 of the year went fast! J.D. Salinger passed yesterday. My favorite short story was “For Esme – With Love and Squalor”. At one point I wanted to name Sofia Esme but I lost the battle when it became apparent that Esme was short for Esmeralda. Those names all cycle anyway, who knows, in 20 years Esmeralda, Bertha, and Dorothy will be the most popular names again.

Tags: , , , ,

12 Responses to “Colds Of Winter…”

  1. Gordo Says:

    Sorry about the cold, Jim. We couldn’t keep it all up here if we wanted to. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Kids bring all kinds of things home, but at least they bounce back very well. Take care.

  2. gary rith Says:

    tres gorgeous vases there amigo, and I hope you can get to the red pooper Saturday ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ron Says:

    Good luck fending off the sickness. Cool vases! Hopefully things won’t freeze up too bad there, calling for winter mix here tonight and tomorrow. Yuck. Have a good weekend.

  4. elizabeth burtt Says:

    windy and snowing here, too cold for the studio s am breaking all the rules and working in the diningroom.

  5. cindy shake Says:

    Great forms. Snuggle up and probably it’s a lots ‘o soup and movies kind of weekend till the offspring is well again.

  6. Varda Says:

    Hope and wish Sofia will be healthy and funny very quickly!
    Thanks, you are the real champion, not me…

  7. Tracey Says:

    As I said to Meredith, let me fire them in a sawdust fire!!! Love these forms. Wash those hands lots and lots! Vitamin C and B Complex get us through cold season pretty well. I used to hate the stomach bugs Wes brought home. No protection against those. We all three threw up monthly it seemed during 1st, 2nd and 3rd grades! Best wishes

  8. Rob Lorenz Says:

    Nice vases! And Esme? Sounds pretty spiffy if you ask me. Sophia is right nice too, though. Hope she gets to feeling better.

  9. ang Says:

    cool vases i love composites!!!! ooh sound positively yuk!!! could you put her in a bubble?????? just kidding……..

  10. meredith Says:

    I hate the crud… best to your little one and hope she is up dancing soon.
    I think we can both pack our pots off to tracey she is on a roll!

  11. soubriquet Says:

    I had to go read Salinger’s story to find out about Esme, what a great short-story, how it pulls you in.
    I do wish he’d gone to Esme’s wedding though, damn the mother-in -law. maybe it’s time I dug out Catcher in the Rye again, i can barely remember it.

    Love the vases, there’s a persian look there somehow….
    Honey with that vitamin C… honey and lemon, It doesn’t necessarily cure, but it makes things feel better

  12. blackedoutblog Says:

    Those are absolutely beautiful. My favorite Salinger memory was this story I read where he went on for about 4 pages describing the contents of a medicine cabinet.

Leave a Reply

