I Got Interviewed…

About a week ago I received an email from a potter named Connie Norman and I clicked over to her site and recognized this right away…

That cover was December 2004 and 2004 was the year I made the switch from my old job to doing ceramics. After my 3 week whirlwind summer trip with my nephew cross country, I started making pots and one of the first things I did was re-subscribe to Ceramics Monthly and this was one of the first few covers that I received. Connie has a blog and she does interviews with other potters and artists and she asked me if I’d like to do one and I said yes… the interview is here. Connie uses letters pressed into her pots as a decorative motif and the word couplings or phrases are repeated over open areas. She makes each impression by hand and I’m sure that we share similar spans of the meditative time working our ways through the tedium to achieve a certain result. If you get a hankerin’, head on over to Connie’s website, she has plenty of pictures of her work like this salt and pepper shaker set…

Tags: , , ,

13 Responses to “I Got Interviewed…”

  1. Gordo Says:

    Add spice, indeed. Heading on over!

  2. John Dorsey Says:

    Jim, this cover is very special to me although not for the reasons you write about. My mentor, and the man who really inspired me to get into ceramics, is written about in this issue: Makoto Yabe. He was such an incredible man and wonderful potter. He died shortly afterwards of stomach cancer. I still ride in a fundraiser for cancer research in his and my mother’s name. I use many of his techniques to specifically to keep his spirit alive (one of my main glazes is named Makoto Beige – a bland name but a beautiful glaze). Sorry to get sidetracked on a different issue, but the cover struck a major jolt to me this morning.

    I am, of course, so pleased for you getting interviewed! Well done!

  3. Judy Shreve Says:

    Great interview! I remember that Ceramics Monthly cover & how infatuated I was with Connie Norman’s work. I visit her blog often.

  4. cindy shake Says:

    WOW! Great lead for me to get inspired by this morning!! Wonderful and refreshing work by Connie. I LOVE being treated to new Blogs – but I especially LOVE that tall, black & white piece of yours on her Blog AND the teapot that follows it!! How fun to see so many of your BEAUTIFUL works. Thanks again for the lead and a chance to see incredible work while having my morning tea.

  5. gary rith Says:

    Whoa!

  6. zygote Says:

    Good answers… Who knew there would be a pop quiz?

  7. Cindy Gilliland Says:

    That was a really good interview. Awesome Jim!

  8. jenmecca Says:

    Cool stuff. I remember her work too! Love it…I’ll have to look at the interview. Good for you!

  9. ignatius Says:

    Cool!!!

  10. meredith Says:

    enjoyed your chat, it was nice to learn more about you.

  11. ang Says:

    super cool jim!

  12. Connie Norman Says:

    Jim, I’m so glad that so many people read your interview!! So far your interview has been the most fun. It was really nice getting to know you and seeing what great readership you have.

    Thank you to everyone who wrote and remembered my CM cover. Living in Wyoming, I don’t get to be around to many clay people. So doing the interviews have been a super way to connect with potters.

  13. Eugene Hon Says:

    I left a comprehensive comment on her blog – much needed information for my students embarking on surface development experiments – techniques and methods. Great interview, sit provide insightful information to get to understand the way you work, reasons behind the marks you make – the artist’s intent. Really enjoyed it- sorry for being so late with my comments. I am very busy at the moment with study guides (new lecturing duties in Jewellery – Drawing and Design II and III). New academic responsibilities – love teaching though. Thanks for sharing this with us and to Connie for creating the opportunity

Leave a Reply

