Whatcha Got Cookin’?…

Well, yesterday was a snow day adventure with Mom at work. Not only did we not have milk but we were out of other things as well and part of my plan was to spend part of my impromptu bug day making a big pot of bean soup… and I needed some things for that too. So we hit the road with the bruiser-mobile and Sofia said… “is Tommy’s open?” and I thought, I bet he is and a nice cup of coffee and some chamomile tea in a toasty coffee shop might just be the ticket for the snow day. We drove down and Tommy was open and we sat at the counter watching the snow, doing crossword puzzles, coloring and of course we got an order of pomme frittes. At one point the bug was softly chanting, pomme frittes, pomme frittes, pomme frittes. Then we hit the road and my car started overheating at a traffic light. My car’s been acting funny and I’ve vowed not to put any money into anymore but I just figured it was having trouble with the fuel line or something because it would only do it after it’s been sitting there in the cold. Then it hit me. The antifreeze is so diluted from a summer of topping it off with water that the car starts off with frozen coolant (water) in it. Anyway, got some antifreeze and that seemed to take care of it so, I’ll just forget about it until something else happens. When we got home, I started making soup and Mom came home early but… in for a penny, in for a pound, I went ahead and finished up our bean soup. It’s more like bean stew but we call it bean soup… it’s got barley, beans, potatoes, carrots, celery, onions, garlic, stock and spices. Here’s a shot…

I went ahead and dug up this picture of what we had cookin’ about 4 years ago…

It absolutely freaks me out that she could have changed from that to what she looks like now in 4 years. Anyway, I got to work a little and Mom and bug went out in the snow and pretty soon Sofia was knocking at the door asking me for a carrot. Her and her little friend, Monica, from across the street were making a snowman and I told them to come get me when it was done and I’d come out and take a picture. Apparently I was incorrect in my assumption that the carrot would be used for the nose because Sofia was eating it…

And then the it just got stuck in the top of its head and they moved on…

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “Whatcha Got Cookin’?…”

  1. Gordo Says:

    Impaled by a root vegetable. LOL

    We had a similar pot of soup five years ago. It’s funny how that freaks people out. πŸ™‚

  2. gary rith Says:

    woooohoooo! I guess you sprinkled a lot of paprika or tabasco on that little bald headed pot full of baby to get a head of hair on her like that huh????

  3. Becky Jo Says:

    Oh no! Cooked baby! Oh wait… she’s ok. Whew! πŸ˜‰

  4. ron Says:

    LOL that carrot in the head is great. Soup looks yummy.

  5. whynotpottery Says:

    that is a tasty looking pot of baby soup!
    You have had it on simmer long enough- just wait until it cooks a bit longer and the next thing you know there are dreaded b.o.y.s who want a nibble….
    Good looking beans soup.
    Enjoy the snow………………………………………………………

  6. Ben Says:

    Haha! Carrot top πŸ™‚

  7. Tracey Says:

    Yum, for the first soup! Perfect weather for it. I remember all those snow days outside with Wesley. Now she likes to sit inside with me by the fire and eat! Much better for me. The soup pot photo of Sophia brings to mind that great line in Cold Mountain when they kill the rooster “let’s put him in a pot!” I love that scene!!
    Don’t blink, she will be driving πŸ™‚

  8. Jason Says:

    The soup looks good! The baby looks even yummier!

    I love making soup on a cold, snowy/rainy day.

  9. Eugene Hon Says:

    I luv the soup – always have stock ready to add what ever is needed. Bough this book encyclopaedia of Soups, really good. Being on my own lately – i find this the best way to cook. healthy and fabulous. Does not take that long either – if you have stock in the freezer. It also make sense to stock up during the big freeze – you do face and experience each year. That is a hell of allot of snow – never experienced that before. The images are great and fun – I have never built a snowman. Must be such fun and a wonderful way of expressing creativity during childhood. Such good stock in the pot – blue eyes and all.

Leave a Reply

