Jolly Or Lovable…

Well apparently that is the choice. Not paper or plastic, boxers or briefs, credit or debit or even American Pale Ale or India Pale Ale. On Sunday when I was wishing someone would shoot me and trying to figure out how the dog had made me sick, I laid down to just try and get maybe a half hour break. I said, I’m just gonna lay down for a little bit and try to rest for while and Sofia said… OK. Of course she proceeded to sit on me and start asking me questions. I said, Sugar, Dad doesn’t feel well and I have to work tomorrow, just let me rest for a little bit. She said, I wish you didn’t have to work at all. I said, well what would I do if I didn’t work? She immediately said, be jolly. Of course. I said, well, I do work so if I’m not jolly, what am I? Matter-of-fact-ly, she says, you’re lovable. I guess I was expecting something more the opposite of jolly. So there you have it… if you have to work, you’re lovable and if not, jolly. Here’s the vase I worked on yesterday…

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “Jolly Or Lovable…”

  1. ang Says:

    totally cool vase..rest up mr jolly lovable….!

  2. Gordo Says:

    You can’t argue with that, can you? Beautiful vase.

  3. barb jensen Says:

    Awww…so adorable! Aren’t you glad she continued the interview?

  4. Meredith Says:

    You are such a teddy bear!
    What a kid the Sofia is- get better!

  5. Diablo con queso Says:

    la nina es simplemente un genio

  6. red dirt girl Says:

    I love this post !! from the mouth of babes … sending hot chicken soup wishes your way.

    xxx

  7. Cindy Gilliland Says:

    Sofia is such a little sweet pea 🙂
    I like your big vase. Nice!

  8. Trish Lansdell-Denholm Says:

    What can I say: ‘Sick’ happens, rest needed, work waits for no one and children make us smile still.
    Beautiful vase!.
    Be well.

  9. eugene hon Says:

    Sofia ‘s response is just wonderful. We all need each other. We expect so much from each other – especially our dad’s love. We don’t expect our dad to get sick, be without money and or be needy at all. He is our hero, the best dad in the world and untouchable. In complete control – never without health, wealth and strength. Go daddy go!

  10. Peter Says:

    Hi Jim,
    So sorry that you are sick. I thought that I set records for the number of sick days “enjoyed” per year, but I acknowledge you as a serious rival, and I speak as one that managed to get most of the childhood ailments more than once… for example, Chicken pox twice and followed up with shingles for good measure not many years later……! Anyway, you do have my very sincere sympathy.

    As far as diagnosis goes… “how the dog has made me sick”… we have been watching series 4 of House that our local library had on DVD. In it one patient had kidney failure, a collapsed lung, a failing liver, and many other life threatening conditions as a result of a broken toe!!! (House certainly does turn misery into rather bizarre entertainment! Just medical drama…. thank goodness!)

    I loved the little video of Sofia singing. I also thought that her comment about being “loveable” when you are working was wonderful, refreshing and delightful.

    Hope you are better soon.

Leave a Reply

