Shellacked By Shellac…

Long day yesterday with the wee brush. I’m trying to finish the decorative phase this week so I can start glazing next week although I think it may be a bit optimistic, especially considering I’m finding there’s a limit to how long I can sit with the respirator and suspend both my arms. At about 5 yesterday, I had to go out and walk around the block in the cold to get some fresh air. Here’s the third and biggest of these vases so far, I like it the most so far and it was real back breaker…

I had a little visitor a couple times during the day and she took the time to make me a little drawing…

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “Shellacked By Shellac…”

  1. gary rith Says:

    OH SOFIA!

  2. Gordo Says:

    That vase is gorgeous! My eldest is 12 and we still have the vast majority of the drawings that he gave us over the years. 🙂

  3. cindy shake Says:

    Beautiful vase! I’m not clear on how the Shellac works -I guess I never realized that you were using Shellac -I assumed it was some type of wax. Does it fire out or is this vase in a finish phase?

  4. zygote Says:

    That’s a lot work keeping your arms up like that. Have you started daydreaming any new patentable pillow crutches yet?
    The vase looks real good, it looks spooky to hold while you do your water abrasion.

  5. Ben Says:

    Awesome vase, and beautiful drawing! Are you going to do a video showing the water abrasion technique? I’d love to see one! And, why do you you use shellac instead of wax?

  6. ellen mulligan Says:

    have you tried acrylic matte medium? It works almost as well as shellac, no fumes – just a plastic-ey smell, and the brushes are easy to clean!

  7. Judy Shreve Says:

    Jim – that vase is amazing. You are so focussed to be able to do that intricate work & hang out with a lovely lady who brings you drawings.

  8. Connie Says:

    Wow, what a beauty! Oh and so is your vase!!!

  9. ang Says:

    man that’s a big days work! remember to stretch!!

  10. pru Says:

    wow your vase is so big and i like it

Leave a Reply

