You Say You Know Me And I Say Yunomi…

And I’ll be in Scotland afore ye… no, wrong song… let’s call the whole thing off. Here’s the announcement for the AKAR Yunomi 2010 show…

If you would like a sneak peak at the yunomis you can go to this link. There’s tons of people this year (200) as the show gets bigger each year with lots of familiar names. An incredible number of yunomis are sold within the first 24 hours. This is my 4th time at the show which I always look forward to. Here are my cups from the previous 3 years in order…

It’s strange to see a progression like this and then add this year’s to it. I think I like some of the older ones, I may have to revisit some ideas there. Anyway, no time for blogging… the bug’s at the grandparent’s and I’ve got a kiln that’s ready to unload and a half a day to get some more shellacking done. Not sure how many posts this week as I’m in the midst of crunch time. Cannot believe how quickly a week disappears.

10 Responses to “You Say You Know Me And I Say Yunomi…”

  1. Barbara Edwards Says:

    What a beautiful bunch. Fun to see them all together. I was trying to decide if there was any stage I liked more than another, and, nope, in fact I even keep changing my favorite. Hope all the work goes smoothly.

  2. jen Says:

    I’d love to be in that show. Hope you sell them all, they look great! jen

  3. cindy shake Says:

    I like the top row best but all have incredible texture and rich colors.

  4. John Dorsey Says:

    Jim – really nice progression. I think it is always helpful to go back and reassess. I like how your glazes were a little less controlled in the earlier years but love the more sophisticated shapes of your recent work. The cup I own has a nice heft to it and more volume than I thought when ordering it – I like it with beer or tea in it. A little too big for scotch or wine and a little too thin for coffee (I don’t know why I like a handle for coffee but not for tea). I general, I like the direction you are going…

  5. Judy Shreve Says:

    Great looking yunomis — Isn’t it fun to see the progression. I like the second one on the first row — nice foot.

    This is one of my favorite Akar shows.

  6. ang Says:

    love the entire line up….happy crunch time…

  7. gary rith Says:

    holy cats Jim!

  8. andrew widdis Says:

    No. 2 top left for me.
    aw.

  9. eugene hon Says:

    It is interesting to note that the group at the bottom looks more like a set – the decoration applied in a band – the middle of the mug (similar kind of rim and base). The sets from the previous years look more like one-of-a-kind mugs. Each one different in terms of the form, texture and the glaze. I also prefer the earlier ones.

  10. Robert Says:

    Great yunomis! Love the decorative bands around the middle. Makes me realize I have a ways to go on my craftsmanship. Your blog is an excellent example of why I read so many different blogs – to learn from great potters!

Leave a Reply

