My Body Lies Over The Ocean…

I’ll start by saying that I absolutely love traditional Irish music. The other day Sofia went to spend the afternoon at her grandparents house and after she returned we got in the car to go somewhere and before she was even buckled in she started up with the… “can we play that new music, can we put on the new music?”. Her favorites have changed over the years from Counting Crows to Ani DiFranco to Third Eye Blind so I’ve been glad so far that it hasn’t been Raffi (or whatever his name is) or Alvin and the Chipmunks. So I turn to Mom and say what new music is she talking about and Mom says, “oh, my Mom gave her a disc by some guy I never heard of, it’s Irish music”. This peaks my interest but I’m skeptical of grandmommy Irish music being the Irish music I know and love. Mom follows this by saying that she played about 4 songs but it was so bad she couldn’t stand it any longer and had to turn it off. I thought, what the hell? and fished around for the CD cover. It was a Mitch Miller sings Irish songs CD. Showing my age, I say that I actually remember the “Sing Along With Mitch” show from when I was a kid. I also remember hating it but I was very young and we had the Beatles and Led Zeppelin and Jimi Hendrix. So I start up the car and Sofia shouts out… “play the song about my body over the ocean” and Mom says it’s #4 on the disc. We motor off and a men’s choir starts singing “My Bonnie Lies Over The Ocean”. It’s really awful and it harkens back to a simpler time (and I don’t mean that in a good way) that about half our population seems to long for when this kind of thing passed for high entertainment. On the one hand I’m thinking… gag me with a spoon but on the other I was surprised that I knew all the words (actually I think the Beatles covered this tune early on, that’s my excuse and I’m sticking with it). When I remember stuff like this, it really makes me wish that our brains had a “compress and defrag” option like on a computer hard drive because I guess my head is so packed full of useless information that it doesn’t have enough room any more for information like… where I set my damn reading glasses. The CD went on to “School Days” (not school daze) and “Tura lura lura” and I knew most of these lyrics too although I was surprised to hear in “School Days” that the narrator starts by reminiscing about school where they used a hickory stick as discipline but the last verse ended up in New York City. Anyway, I’m looking forward to the bug getting tired of this favorite. Here she is playing in her sand box, it’s spring…

Here’s a rare picture of Mom, she was working in the back yard while Sofia was playing…

And of course while I was trying to type out a quick post yesterday, Sofia decided that I was a xmas tree and decorated me as I typed away…

Glazing continues today, bisque came out fine with everything intact.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “My Body Lies Over The Ocean…”

  1. ron philbeck Says:

    Nice deco on your head! Ha. So now I see where Sofia gets her beautiful red hair. Nice to see that rare photo of Mom. It’s funny that some of our spouses/partners/etc love to be in the blog and others certainly avoid it. I’m thinking of Gary and Maude. She seems to put up with Gary and his constant photo taking, even in early morning. And then on the other hand there is Paul Jessop’s lovely partner, Marion, who I know avoids being on Paul’s blog. My Sarah is pretty open to making an appearance every now an again, but I usually get approval on the photo before I publish it. Anyhow, have a great Monday good luck w. the glazing.

  2. gary rith Says:

    HA! You’re talking about me! Sarah seems like a super nice person Ron, and always makes a nice addition to your blog. I know all the chicks dig Jim here and if Alicia didn’t show once in awhile Jim would be up to his eyeballs with propositions and proposals and prepositions.
    Heh.
    PLUS, there is the remarkable mother-daughter resemblance. Makes you wonder if Jim had anything to do with the making of that child.
    As far as my wife goes, the first year or 2 of my blogging she refused to be blogged, but I started ignoring her protestations and she has gotten a little used to it. Tis my life, and I like to include her in it all.
    Plus she is a hawt chick, esp. considering she is now over 50.
    What were we talking about?

  3. Gordo Says:

    Nice pic, Jim! Hi, Mom!

    I remember learning a number of these “traditionals” in elementary school vocal class. They’re still stuck in my head. šŸ˜‰

  4. red dirt girl Says:

    i love how kids just make up the words as they sing ….. great pics of all! a fine family indeed.

    xxx

  5. ron Says:

    Of course I’m talking about you Gary, you’re my blogging hero!! You rock dude.
    Jim, I had that song in my head all day yesterday!

Leave a Reply

