The Callapidders Are Here, The Callapidders Are Here…

My sister Cathy gave Sofia a “raise a butterfly” kit at xmas and what you do is send away in the mail and the company sends you a wee container of live callapidders. They spin themselves into cocoons and hopefully we all witness the metamorphosis into a butterfly. Sofia doesn’t transpose letters in words as much as she used to when she was younger and I thought the funny talk was all but over but callapidders it is and it cracks me up every time she says it. Here’s the bug with her callapidders…

At the opening in Chicago I neglected to take a camera to the opening but other people did. I met a very nice couple from Des Moines named Jennifer and Jeff. Jeff is a woodworker and Jennifer is a potter and she was attending Jeff’s workshop. We had a good time talking about power tool accidents amongst other things and Jennifer was gracious enough to take a couple shots of Jeff and me and then email them to me. Here’s one of the shots…

I get a bit antsy when people point cameras at me and I think I looked off right as Jennifer snapped this one. And as long as I’m posting pictures of myself, here’s one with the bug. When I was a kid no matter what the occasion whenever anyone took pictures of me, I would make a face. I was the one that ruined all the family photos. Well, apparently Sofia is a chip off the ol’ block in this regard as she started to make this face whenever I take her picture…

Of course the beauty of the whole thing when I was a kid was that nobody was certain that the photo was “ruined” until after it was developed days later but now you can just keep shooting until you get one. I tore down the photo setup yesterday, put all my glazing stuff away, started slaking reclaim, cleaned the floor and the wheel, taped the plastic that was over the bedroom window onto the floor so that more of the exposed wood is covered and wedged up some of Matt and Dave’s clay that’s been sitting there for months.

Tags: , , ,

13 Responses to “The Callapidders Are Here, The Callapidders Are Here…”

  1. elizabethBurtt Says:

    that is a great face she makes! You should maybe checkout this fabulous site that my kids loved. http://www.wormspit.com. This fellow raises silkworms and spins the silk, and dyes it, and then weaves it. Its a pretty interesting look at the life cycles. Glad your show went well.

  2. Michael Kline Says:

    It is the role of a child to be the trickster, especially when being photographed! ( isn’t it?)

    8^0

  3. Miri Says:

    That kit looks really cool. My 5yr old nephew is equally into bugs so I’ll have to file this idea for a future gift! Or, I could just grab some callapidders off my pumpkin plant and send ’em off…. Hmmm….may be a market there… 😉

    Glad to hear the show and the closing went well.

  4. Cathy Says:

    Glad she’s enjoying the callapidders- it’s pretty cool to watch the metamorphosis. Very cool if you witness the butterfly emerge from the cocoon. It only takes a minute so you have to be lucky enough to be there when it happens. Good luck.

  5. Connie Says:

    Hi Jim
    I’m starting to think you had to be named Jeff to attend your show, or at least Jennifer, or Jim. The show looked great, even in though some of the spots were empty. Also, from the last post, while I started reading it that you were talking about Jeff C., being in the 50 club. But then I realized you were talking about your friend Jeff. But from that I started to wonder how old is Jeff C.?

    Sophia’s personality just beams through all the silly faces!! I love it!!

    • jim Says:

      hi connie, not sure how old Jeff C. is… I think he’s 29 but i might be off there

  6. Heidi Says:

    I want to meet Sophia. She is SO darn cute. I love the T-shirt your mom got her. Can’t wait to see what happens with the callapidders. 🙂

  7. gary rith Says:

    le bug is raising a bug!

  8. meredith@whynot Says:

    okay- talk about power tools and then a picture with hands in the pockets makes a girl wonder.
    There are so many men in this area with missing fingers from machines and power tools- you kind of get use to it.
    So are all the fingers there?
    I raised butterflies last year in one of my gardens- it was great fun.
    I hope the bug enjoys watching them spin and grow.
    I am making a funny face for you – but you will just have to take my word for it- and then there are the bunny ears….

    • jim Says:

      hi meredith, i still have all mine although i’ve had some close calls. i had a friend in college who lost a pinky on his left hand and the ring finger next to it was pretty chewed up too. he had to relearn all his fiddle tunes with 3 fingers.

  9. ang Says:

    oh super back into the making cycle i’m starting to linger there myself more cups on the way and a studio that looks like a bomb hit it!

  10. Jennifer Says:

    I love the callapidders! The Bug will have fun watching them. It was great to meet you and Jeff at the Chicago opening! I’m glad you like the photo. Please let us know when you will be in Des Moines next time and maybe we can get together and Jeff can give you a tour the wood shop.

  11. Skinzilla Says:

    Hey – you look like my brother. I made that face once in a photo. It was a big hit.

Leave a Reply

