Mortarboards And Greenware…

I didn’t attend the “graduation” mostly because I’m 52 and I didn’t have my first graduation until 8th grade and I thought that was bogus. Graduating from preschool is akin to graduating out of diapers or graduating out of training wheels or graduating to having a washing machine in your home instead of going to the laundromat. All these things are great but the curmudge in me thinks maybe we ought to resist our urge to celebrate with a ceremony. But as with everything else the world moves on without me and with no regard for what I think. I joked when Mom got home by saying something like… “now you’re gonna tell me they wore mortarboards”. And as is apropos, she replied… “yes, they did and it’s right there in that bag”. Here’s a pic Mom took at the “graduation” and I’m thinking maybe the mortarboard was just a ineffectual attempt to draw attention away from those PINK SHOES…

I couldn’t resist donning the mortarboard myself, not so much to see if it fit but because I had coincidentally just graduated myself, from “before lunch” to “lunch”. The ceremony was brief but I felt special…

Sofia came in the studio yesterday and brought me this lovely bouquet that she had put together…

I was listening to an old Led Zeppelin disc and Robert Plant was wailing. Sofia asked me if it was a boy or a girl that was singing and seemed disappointed when I told her it was a boy. Anyway, here’s a morning shot of the beer glasses from yesterday…

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “Mortarboards And Greenware…”

  1. medrecgal Says:

    LOL…glad to see the goofiness I remember from my childhood lives on! I also enjoyed Sofia’s taste in floral arrangements….perhaps she’ll grow up to be as artistic as you someday. The pink shoes are consistent with my theory.

    Kim

  2. Cindy Gilliland (DirtKicker Pottery) Says:

    Life is short. I say, wear pink shoes and make a big deal out of the little stuff when ever possible!
    Love the beer glasses. I finally got some grolleg. Can’t wait to give it a spin.

  3. Eugene Hon Says:

    I dont like it either – never attended mine at UCT. However I had to as academic and especially as Dean of my faculty for 6 years. I had to read all their names – believe me when I say it was tough especially the last three years with so many black graduates – the names starting with m was my worse Mthombeni for instance. More than 200 on a night, it was something else. Anyway it is always a day to remember – the music they play when you walk in is always so memorable lallalllaaalllalaaaaaalal did you get, I think not – waltz in matilda ,,,, The expression on the Face says it all to me – very proud moment for Dad mmm

  4. Skinzilla Says:

    Man she looks like a 3rd grader.

  5. ang Says:

    a lil cheer for your personal lunch celebration!!! clap clap clap….

  6. soubriquet Says:

    Ah, a curmudgeon after mine own heart, bless you.
    I’ve just gradated from lying in bed well after getting up time, and passing reading the last page with honours.

    Here’s a graduation word that might come in handy for scrabble. :Subfusc.

    • jim Says:

      hi soubriquet, had to look that up… gotta try to remember to work that in somewhere. the bug and i are heading out for our morning walk before the light turns subfusc and it eventually storms.

  7. Patricia Griffin Says:

    Pink shoes are THE essential wardrobe piece for all smart-dressed fashionable women. I have mine on right now! (Seriously, I do.)

  8. meredith Says:

    I don’t get it either,but hey what do I know.
    I love the flowers from the bug- sweet

  9. ron Says:

    I think you should start wearing that hat all the time. You could be the leader (lone nut), then I’d start wearing one…I’d be the follower…before long there would be a movement.

    http://fetishghost.blogspot.com/2010/05/short-lesson-on-leadership.html

    Potters in Mortarboards

Leave a Reply

