It’s Been A Bit Muggy…

Well, it sounded better than it’s been a bit glassy although I seem to have caught another one of Sofia’s illnesses and it might be more accurate to say I’ve been a bit bleary. So anyway, I saw this post a while back on Keith Phillips’ blog and I really love love love the way this looks. So I wanted to give it a try and not sure with my clay body whether the slip will crackle but either way, I still think I will like the effect and I’m kinda thinking I might like the combination of it with the shellac process. So on to do my little test. First I found a black and white illustration of a hop (to be modified if I prove the concept well) and enlarged them and printed two on a piece of printer paper. Then I spent about 15 minutes cutting one out with an exacto knife…

By the way, that would be way too long even for me to consider doing multiple times. Then I took the flimsy printer inky hop cutout and stuck it to the side of a not-quite-dry-enough beer glass…

Then I dipped in the too wet slip, twice (and the printer ink ran down the side looking rather nice)…

After it dried a bit, I removed the stencil…

Now if this is something I’d like to pursue and at this stage it feels that way (of course it always does at this stage), I will need to cut stencils inexpensively and not by hand. Of course Mr. Joel cuts multiples in a very creative way… with a jeweler’s saw. I think Keith uses a “craft robo” stencil cutter and they run about 260.00 and I cannot invest in that without knowing whether I even want to really do it, although for years I wanted a way to get from photoshop to the pot’s surface. My good friend Vern has a high-end stencil cutter and I’m trying to figure out what kind of media those scrapbooking stencil cutters use because he’s only used his on vinyl. Anyway, we’ll see. I’ve posted a few more bowls on etsy (clicking goes to etsy)…

Tags: , , ,

12 Responses to “It’s Been A Bit Muggy…”

  1. John Dorsey Says:

    I’d put in an order for a couple – i think it is worth pursuing – I am sure you can make it work!

  2. Jerry Says:

    Loving the hop-on-a-beer-glass idea!! (Although when I just typed that out, it sounds very dangerous and I wouldn’t recommend it unless you know what you are doing.) Can’t wait to see the final product.

  3. cynthia Says:

    I was also looking at Keith’s slip work the other day specifically the cup you linked to – inspiring stuff! Last year I did some stencil work with newsprint, but as you deduced is very labor intensive. I was able to reuse my stencils about 3 times allowing them to dry out between uses and peeling away very carefully. I’m sure you could run newsprint cut to size through a printer. Feel better….

  4. Patricia Griffin Says:

    Looking forward to seeing how this turns out!

  5. thecapricorntm Says:

    There are “printers” that cut out papers , in fact you give them the directions and a blade cuts out the paper

    They are not even that expensive or at least are woth the investement if you’d like to contiune that.

    http://www.amazon.com/Graphtec-Silhouette-Craft-Cutter-ClipArt/dp/B0021VNTMC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1276179493&sr=1-1

    and

    http://www.amazon.com/Craft-Robo-CC330L-20/dp/B002FVJBIY/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1276179493&sr=1-2

    I’d love to have one myself, but they are not supporting Linux yet 😦

  6. Heidi Says:

    Interesting. At first I thought you put the stencil on and covered it with shellac. Post pics when it’s done. 🙂

  7. cindy shake Says:

    Kip O’Krongly uses a lot of stencils in her work:
    http://kipokrongly.blogspot.com/

    With all of the scrap booking going on there are all types of cutters available now at Michael’s and even Walm@rt. I think it’s best to put in the time with an original stencil (using a vinyl table cloth) that is reusable and will last longer. I like the stencil you made -cool.

  8. Gordo Says:

    Very cool, Jim. 😀

  9. tinkerfeet Says:

    I use a cutter called cricut by provo craft and they start at $99.00 up. I use my with other software called SCAL2 and inkscape and with those things the sky is your limit. You can cut just about anything you want.

  10. ang Says:

    all this talk about stencils and i’m amazed that there’s a machine cutter now!!..I like the vinyl stencil idea and i’m also wondering about a sprig? think of the intricate work that ‘wedgewood’ did and they were all sprigs..
    it would require making a plaster mold and may be fun to tinker with…
    until you head back to the brush and shelac work of course… 😛
    ………..WP keeps going to sleep on me…3rd time lucky

  11. nadie Says:

    Don’t forget your vitmin D3.

  12. Zygote Says:

    LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

