In The Cups Again…

It’s been a little bit of everything this week. I forgot that Wednesday wouldn’t be a work day and yesterday Mom was sick… actually we all are, we’ve all been coughing for weeks and now we know that it’s bronchitis. Anyway, while Mom was at work the bug and I went to our favorite Thai restaurant with one of her favorite uncles. Sitting in a booth is fun and it becomes challenging to keep Sofia from going back and forth under the table…

I decided to do a little reclaiming, mostly because I have buckets of it piling up all around the studio and I never seem to want to address it but I also thought that the bug would like to help out and get her hands all mucky. She did enjoy it and I think that it looked like frosting made it more appealing and of course we had to write her name in it…

I have a bunch more mugs/cups that need handles so I got to pulling handles too…

I got to the end of the day and started to get the itch to play around with the handles a bit. I’m not sure if this is a good thing or not but whenever I begin to do a bunch of similar forms or similar tasks, I reach a point where I’m not as satisfied with the activity and I just sort of move on until it’s out of my system. So I made this handle and I liked the way it looked…

Of course the down side of these tangents is that it takes more time (big surprise there) and as I’ve fooled with this kind of handle before, the success rate is much lower because all those joints are twisting and pulling every which way when they’re drying so we’ll see. Then at the very end of the day, I left function behind and ended up with this one…

I’m crossing my fingers.

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “In The Cups Again…”

  1. meredith@whynot Says:

    those are fun! And surprise- we love to play and then right in the middle of it comes that voice of reason- hey! what are you doing- get to work!

  2. elizabethBurtt Says:

    I love those handles. Sometimes you just need to take things for a walk, and see what happens. and sometimes leaving function behind is a good thing, makes for an interesting life.

  3. Zygote Says:

    Those are amazing… they don’t even look easy to make.

  4. ang Says:

    so cool…so are they a happening thing jim? handles can be so fascinating and distracting when you’re making a run of cup but i enjoy a play too..

  5. Dawn Says:

    i LOVE your funked out handles!!!! (I’m pretty sure I need one too…..)

  6. Rob Lorenz Says:

    The handles do look stunning. I think they might look more natural on a different form, though. Your mugs look very soft and billowy. The handles have a much more sharp, angular feel. Just my opinion, though, and according to my wife that is not worth too much.

  7. Gordo Says:

    Those are amazing, Jim!

  8. Eugene Hon Says:

    Your handles look like they are carved our of wood, love the negative shapes that they create. Although they are radical, they compliment the cups well and add a quirky feel to the overall design.

  9. Spinning Earth Says:

    The contrast is what makes them remarkable!
    How do you join them so cleanly? magic water? vinegar? What type of scorer that doesn’t mar the edges of the joint?

    RE: your blog about things that spin… how many potter cyclists do you know? And what about potter cyclist hoopers? I bet your little bug would love spinning a hoop as well. See Superhoopers.org for more brands of spinning.

Leave a Reply

