Horizontal Weekend…

Well, I’m still laid up. I went to lunch with a friend on Thursday (the day after the injury) and it took me so long to get to the car and into the car holding on to anything I could along the way that he brought me some crutches later that evening. On Friday I was feeling optimistic because the crutches weren’t needed really if I was careful and I took that as a sign that my increased mobility would just keep increasing. Unfortunately, my optimism about returning to the studio today has been squelched as I seem to have plateaued in my recovery. I had the bug this weekend but couldn’t walk the dog and really I’m bored out of my skull just sitting or lying around in positions that don’t put stress on my leg. I won’t continue because it has to be as boring to read about as it is to experience. So what do you do when you’re horizontal and can’t do anything? Sofia and I did some drawing this weekend. The first two are hers solo and the second two are collaborative (click to enlarge)…

Looks like we’re going to have to get some more of that long narrow bristol board. On Saturday, I thought I was up to Sofia and I trying a new mold my friend Ray gave me with 3 vases in it. The slip was too thick and after fighting with the mold to drain it, I regretted not waiting…

It’s strange that when you can’t seem to get a break, you just wanna have a break and when you get a break, albeit because of an injury, you just get bored and wish you could get back to work.

Tags: , , ,

13 Responses to “Horizontal Weekend…”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Being injured when you’re used to being on the move is certainly an adjustment. My best advice would be to do what I had to do this past spring: grin, bear it, and take the time to spend with loved ones. Drawings and photos are wonderful, btw. Maybe you can collaborate and write a book while you’re recouperating?

  2. soubriquet Says:

    there’s a hippy vibe in those pics…. Next thing we hear, you’ll be building a dome.

    Oh injuries are tedious, aren’t they. At least you seem to have an attentive nurse in your time of need, so your chances of becoming terminally bored are bound to be regularly interrupted.
    Hang in there. Keep healing.

  3. Miri Says:

    I can relate… Having a break seems like a great idea but grows old very quickly. Sofia’s art-work is becoming quite complex. And those colabs? Stunning!

  4. ang Says:

    oh the pain jim!! gruesome…. take it easy and those feet and hands are freaky… πŸ˜›

  5. Tracey Says:

    Meredith has pain pills and blueberries πŸ™‚
    feel better!

  6. ron Says:

    Hey Jim, I’m just catching up on blogs after being away. Man, sounds like a rough fall. Take care and rest up. That video was great! Ha. I think that guys brother lives here in NC. Love the drawings and yes those feet and hands are creepy.

  7. meredith@whynot Says:

    I was going to say…I would recommend the following:
    ICE—-
    Blueberries- lots!
    and pain pills- they really help you sleep.
    ( she says as she is up at 3 am because her brain will not shut up….)
    These things take awhile.
    Hope you are up to your old tricks soon!
    Love the art!

  8. meredith@whynot Says:

    PS- please explain those “extra” parts on the pig!

    • jim Says:

      hi meredith, they’re inexplicable i guess… only that if i’m on my side of the paper and she’s not done on her side, then i have to keep adding things until it’s “done”. every pig needs a little wheel coming out of its butt anyway, right?

  9. Alex Solla Says:

    Good luck with the Healing! It’s no fun being laid up. I second Meredith’s recommendations… ice, blueberries and pain pills as needed. Oh, and move. Even small gentle movements. Good luck!

  10. Patricia Griffin Says:

    Dr. Meredith has the Rx… pain pills and blueberries! Take it easy, Jim. Wishing you peace and rest. Heal up.

  11. Kari Weaver Hopkins Says:

    Anytime life puts an obstacle in our way, we fight it and try harder to do the task that we really can’t do right then. Sorry to read about your injury, but before long it will be a small blip in the past. Heal up and keep drawing. I never draw anymore…Maybe it’s time for a bike ride! *wink*

  12. Peter Says:

    Hi Jim,
    I am sorry to read that you are currently Gottuso horizontalis. I have a theory, no… a belief, that the popular belief that riding a bicycle will increase and maintain physical fitness is an example of how we have been brainwashed by avaricious orthopedic surgeons. There are parallels with sport too. It is not about a game, it is about money and greed! Take cricket for example… In my day (not that I ever really played it!)…, there was a bat and a ball, and an open field with a good keen group of young people out to have a day or two or three or five… of fun in the sun and rain. Now, humph, there are team physios, coaches, psychologists, motivators, tacticians, dietitians, marketing gurus, all out to make a buck.

    Anyway, what I really want to say is, I hope you are soon feeling much better. I loved the drawings. That long, narrow format is great by-the-way.

    Best Wishes,
    P.

Leave a Reply

