Eureka, Buika…

What’s the revelation?… BUIKA! I have been a longtime fan of female vocalists, especially jazz vocalists. In college, I had a “boom box” and only 2 90 minute cassette tapes which I played incessantly for years in the ceramics studio at Murray State University. One tape was a live two-LP recording of Al Jarreau which I posted about quite a while back here. The other was a live two-LP recording titled “Duke and Ella Live at the Cote D’ Azur”. Both of these records were my early explorations into scat and I played them literally hundreds of times. Ella Fitzgerald is still my favorite with the most pure voice I’ve ever heard and I used to say that one thing I’m thankful for is that I was born after Ella. I know that many people will disagree and say that perhaps Sarah Vaughn was better, or Billie Holiday or whoever and those opinions are well taken but Ella has always been the best to me. Since college I’ve included many other female vocalists to my favorites list like Sarah and Billie, and would definitely include Aretha, Dinah Washington, Patsy Cline, Dakota Staton, Diana Krall, Sade, Omara Portuondo, Clara Nunez and maybe some more contemporary singers like Ani Di Franco and Tori Amos. Sure there’s more but listing them is not my point. My point is I don’t know what planet I’ve been on but my friend gave me a Concha Buika disc the other day and I’m spellbound. How did I miss Buika. Hell, she won a grammy (of course I don’t watch awards shows… gag me with a spoon). Oh the voice, it’s like a wonderfully mellow, smokey, acrobatic, nuanced female version of Cigala. Unbelievable! I can’t get over it and it is all I’ve been listening to for days. Here’s a video but really… good speakers and some volume and it will give you chills (or maybe not)…

Here’s a couple pics of new pots I got pics of before my rechargeable batteries went on the blink (click to enlarge)…

Closeup…

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Eureka, Buika…”

  1. Connie Says:

    Hi Jim, I can’t wait to hear Concha Buika. Your video is blocked with our super strong filters here. I really love the new peices. Your work has such a nice tactile quailty. I really wish I could touch them.

  2. Judy Shreve Says:

    WOW Concha has an amazing voice. I’d never heard of her — gonna add her to my Itunes.
    I like this new work — love the green stripe in the tumbler — love the colors in all of them.

  3. Michael Giles Says:

    I saw Ella in concert once, many years ago, in Edmonton, Alberta. Just her and the inimitable Jimmy Jones on piano. What a concert!! No one had a voice like Ella’s, and her musical knowledge and instincts were like no one else’s. I still remember the rousing rendition of When the Saints Go Marching In that she did for one of her encores. That dusty old standard was given a new life that night. And this Concha Buika is amazing. I love it when someone introduces me to a new musician and it turns out to be someone as unique and beautiful as this woman’s music. Thanks for that. Nice pots, too, Jim….like the variation in the glaze colours. Yeah, I’m Canadian, and I put those “u’s” in here and there where they don’t seem to beloungue.

  4. Patricia Griffin Says:

    Am a new Concha Buika fan! I will add her to my playlist, where Volver Volver by Vicente Fernandez has had a primo spot for the past year. If I play these enough, perhaps I’ll be able to speak Spanish. 🙂

    New pots are looking good!

  5. ang Says:

    cool…that would be the chicky in the still pic thats got your filters all in a twist connie :))

Leave a Reply

