Drink With The Beer Wench/Club 53 Begins…

When it rains it pours… right after Eli posted my beer glasses over at the Confessions Of A Beer Geek I got an email from the Beer Wench letting me know that her post about those very beer vessels had just been posted. And a wonderful post it was, thank you Ashley!…

So if you’re interested in the craft brewing scene, head on over to Drink With The Wench and immerse yourself in the wonderful world of cerveza. Before I move along to the first installment of Club 53, here’s just a taste, or should I say nip? as in catnip, of (someone’s?) xmas card that the bug and I worked on today…

Friday night began Club 53 and a very inauspicious start for me it was. Just as I was leaving the house, the bug started screaming and apparently had gotten some jalapeno pepper juice on her finger and then rubbed her eye. I left after calming her down and went to the birthday boy’s house (Ray’s) and he drove us to meet the others at a new place downtown called The Beer Store. Sounds like a good name, so we went in and of course there was beer everywhere which is always good. We ordered a couple and I reached for my wallet and got that horrible feeling that everyone gets when they reach for their wallet and it’s not there. So I drove Ray’s car back to my house and figured my wallet was right where I always put it but it wasn’t. I got very frustrated checking pants pockets in the dryer etc. before finally finding it. Back down to the Beer Store and things evened out after that. My only criticism of the new place (and it’s not a valid criticism for hardly anyone… only me) is that it’s a hep place but hasn’t even one chair and when you have my plantar fasciitis problem, the thought of standing for hours is not welcome. Anyway, here’s Ray who’s now 53 and is having something very important explained to him…

Here’s the rest of our motley bunch (Al and Jeff), myself excluded…

All in all it was a great deal of fun and we drank some good birra. Here’s a shot of the wall as you enter the bar…

Notice the hand on the right side of the pic. That’s the hand of the venison jerky pusher (did I mention that it’s organic… not his hand, the jerky). Ray purchased some Jamaican hot jerky and some other kind of venison jerky and relying on the excuse that I had been drinking, I couldn’t resist the opportunity to point out a connection betwixt the venison vendor and myself by telling him about my buckskin jacket that my uncle had made from a deer he shot back in the day. He wasn’t nearly as fascinated by this coincidental buckskin vortex we had stepped into but he was polite about his disinterest. Jeff of the motley crew shot gave us all a print he had done as a demo for his class, Bill Monroe…

So home at 2:00 a.m. and up at 7:00 a.m. with the bug, pack some pots and head to the post office at 9:45 only to find out that my favorite P.O. closes at 9:30 on Saturday… why open at all? From 8 – 9:30? Whatever… onto the spherical puzzle. When I visited central NY for the holidays, Sofia and I went to get coffee the first morning there and she was running low on drawing paper so we were in this unfamiliar shopping center thing and we went into a store called Tuesday M0rn1ng and it just happened to be tuesday. I thought it was the most likely place I could find a pad of paper and although they didn’t have one, they had some Ravensberger puzzles for very cheap and I bought two. I recently came to the conclusion that these Ravensberger puzzles are the best ones out there. After getting several “made in China” puzzles for Sofia, I was beginning to think that they didn’t make good puzzles anymore. The chinese jigsaw puzzles are made of thin cardboard and half the time the pieces don’t stay put which is enough to turn any 3 or 4 year old off from doing jigsaw puzzles for life. The Ravensberger ones are thick, heavy duty pieces and each cut is unique so you cannot put the wrong piece in place of the correct piece. Anyway, one of the puzzles was one of these globe puzzles and the pieces are plastic. It’s not so much a puzzle as an beginner’s engineering problem. Bucky Fuller would be proud though. Anyway the pieces are numbered on the inside…

No way a 6 year old could do this without using the numbers but it was fun…

Well, got more pots on Etsy than I ever had before and I still have some more to post on Monday. That’s all I got.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Drink With The Beer Wench/Club 53 Begins…”

  1. Kern-Kern Says:

    Hi CLub 53. Lookin’ pretty good for old farts.

  2. Hilary Says:

    I love your blog and check back at least once a week! I read about your plantar fasciitits and wanted to say that I too struggle with it but I still run and do yoga etc. It is caused by too much tension in the calf muscles which pull on the fascia (think flat tendons) mine was caused by the slightest gap between my left heel and the floor when I am throwing. It is fixable but you have to spend all of your time stretching out that area (both calves and hamstrings cause they are all sharing the tension) Downward dog, squatting with feet flat on the ground (you americans might call it hunkering, hahaha) and I put a bent leg (like you are a huge number 4) on the back on the couch for the hamstrings. Also, you need to make a few changes to the studio. Always stand on a few layers of flooring foamies, (think flat foam lego) or thick squishy foam shoes, when you throw your feet must be level and your calf relaxed (a thicker shoe or a brick or wedge) and take breaks to stretch even if it is just to stop thowing for a second between balls and pull your toes up off the floor for 30 seconds. You can fix it and have no pain at all but it will take a while, it didn’t get all tightened up over night! Also professional sports massage would help a lot but you have to get the REALLY good people who work on the elite athletes!! good luck

  3. kyle Says:

    wow…that place looked like beer heaven…and jerky too…what more do you want. A friend just came up from VA with some goose jerky…interesting stuff…not bad. In S. Korea we used to eat dried squid while drinking beer…it was a lot like jerky…salty squid jerky.
    anyways…I am enjoying my new mug this fine Friday morning…its really great looking and easy drinking!
    thanks again…

Leave a Reply

