Write/Save/Print/Voila…

I usually don’t relay anything of much value here on ye olde blogge shoppe but I finally found something the other day that I’ve been looking for ever since I started the blog. And even though this is not an arena to “pimp out” stuff (as the beer wench might say), this is gonna be an exception. This is my 406th post and aside from the fact that relatively new readers will neither have the interest nor inclination to wade through the nonsense of all those old posts, thereby absorbing the full extent of my silliness, I kept thinking about the bug. When Mom was pregnant and I realized that I was really a little long in the tooth to be having a child, I went out and got a Moleskin sketch/diary book with the cool leather cover and the built-in rubber band to keep it closed and set out to write a journal of my thoughts to my adult daughter in case I didn’t live long enough to see her grown. I know, it’s a bit pessimistic and maybe a touch maudlin too but my dad died suddenly at age 56 and if his genes are dominant in this realm, I may only have 3 or 4 years left. There’s all kinds of reasons to think this isn’t going to happen but, unlike many people I’ve encountered, I do not know the future. So back to the journal. I was well into it and then I started the blog and I really didn’t think the blog would take all my “writing” energy because I couldn’t for the life of me think of what I might blog about. Soon I was blogging almost daily (things have dropped off a bit since then) and subsequently the journal lay idle. Being a veteran computer user, I thought well, I’ll just save the blog to a PDF or export the blog to a PDF or something like that and someday when w0rdpress runs out of electricity, there will be a hardcopy of the blogging for Sofia to read… complete with pics. To my amazement this does not exist… sure you can export an xml file from this blog and maybe yours too if you are on bl0gsp0t and migrate to a new blog but “saving as” or exporting to PDF, no dice. I’ve been told that I might be able to do this if the w0rdpress server were installed on my home computer but I’m not going there… the best thing about the blogs is they’re free. Well I periodically (no pun intended) go digging and this time I found it! (clicking the graphic takes you to the site)…

So I tried it and it works. It’s a bit slow but who cares and it has a choice of fonts and how many columns, etc. So if you want your blog to be a book someday, go visit the blogbooker.
Keeping with the theme of potentially useful but arcane (and maybe even known by everyone already except me) information I went to mail off a package to Europe a while back (if you’re reading this signore, I hope it has arrived by now). I expected the shipping to be steep but I had based it on other packages sent to other continents. The dude at the library weighed the package and said, “can you take out an ounce and a half?”. At first I thought, yeah, right… I’ll just stick a hypo in there and draw out an ounce and a half. But he was serious and explained that when the package goes over the 4 pound threshold that the price almost doubles (this is USPS). I was dismayed mostly because I thought it would be more sensible (read: fairer) if the price gradually increased correlating to the weight gradually increasing but nevertheless I went home and unwrapped the whole thing and removed a little piece that Sofia had put in the box and packed it all up again. So, if you ship international through USPS, keep it under 4 pounds. My apologies for admitting here where my brother, the (U)(P)(S) driver can read, that I ship with the PO. One more item of interesting and not necessarily useful info… a bit back a comment was made on this post. To paraphrase it decries the fact that I am yet ANOTHER potter who thinks I’m going to get rich by putting g00gle ads on my blog and that although they have been a faithful lurking reader for almost 2 years that because of this they are finished with my blog. The confusing thing to me is that I don’t have g00gle ads and I have no idea why they think I do. I mention this only as an illustration that no matter what you do or say, it’s possible to drive away readers (as if what I normally write isn’t enough to accomplish this already). I did some more goofing around with the terra sig yesterday and I had some company when the bug got home from school. The dog and her sat on the studio couch with me while I painted and she ate about a pound of food that included pecans and clementines…

Here’s the demon dog… she shat on the floor last night. My fault probably because I took her out in the freezing cold last night before bed and after what seemed like 15 minutes (but was probably only 5) or watching her sniff around and graze on the snow, I just gave up and came in the house…

Here’s some terra sig-ness, just trying to get all the different colors I got on there…

And of course although part of my interest in terra sig was to have an alternate way to treat the pots that would be less labor intensive, I’m already leaning in the direction of it being more labor intensive for a couple reasons. One is that this texture is what I like the most about it (of course I still haven’t seen it fired)…

So I’d like to cover much of the surface with this “raised” texture and when I combine that with the time it takes to “burnish” it and maybe even go back into it with the shellac etching anyway, I may be heading in the direction of even more time per piece. Time will tell.

Tags: , , , ,

15 Responses to “Write/Save/Print/Voila…”

  1. Laurie Landry Says:

    Hi
    Haven’t yet tried blogging because I’m not much of a writer.
    I enjoy reading your blog and follow you through facebook.
    I’ve seen no ads on your blog.
    Bug is a doll and also my nick-name for my husband…
    he’s a computer programmer.
    Happy potting and archiving!
    Laurie

  2. Kitty Shepherd Says:

    Thanks for stopping by the Super Scary Big Bug Vase. I have heard of this blog book thing but lost the link so thanks for that, I will look into it. I am thinking of switching to wordpress soon anyway and importing all that data could be a nightmare.
    Terra sig will send you mad with all that sieving and anyway labor intensive is what we like…..isn’t it? Nice effect though. You may have Jupiter in Taurus approaching and this is why you are changing your approach to work.

  3. Michael Giles Says:

    Nope. No gooooogle ads on this blog. But even if you do decide to begin to ski down that slippery slope I’ll keep reading. Love it when your posts appear on my email — brightens up the day.

  4. Cindy Gilliland (DirtKiker Pottery) Says:

    I think it’s very cool that you wanted to write for Sofia. My Dad died when I was quite young, so I totally get and appreciate your thought process.
    So you’re doing t-sig on porcelain? I must have missed something. Guess I need to go back and read some of your past blogs.

  5. ron Says:

    Hey Jim. Good to know about that bloggerbook thing. I don’t really have anyone to leave it to but I think it’s a good idea. My mom writes all kinds of cool stuff to my niece and nephew (her only two grandchildren). I like to read what she writes them as it gives me insights/information that I didn’t know.
    Good luck w. that terra sig. I have a jar of it out in the studio that I’ve done v. little with. Look forward to seeing yours fired.

  6. ang Says:

    sweet jim so much going on in your ramble….i must have missed the ads comment :S
    i hoped it might buy me a book a year but the lil boogers dont say you have to reach a limit of clicks up front at this rate i’ll be waiting 15 years for my book ๐Ÿ˜›
    love the blog book thing and may just have to compile one sweeeeeet idea.. i am unlike you not planning to hike it off the plant any time soon but double checking my left and right before running across the road!! cheers matey…

    are you located anywhere near the slipware doug and H tour spots in APRIL???

  7. soubriquet Says:

    Write, save, pr……… Whaaaat!?

    Oh dear. I can’t afford the ink!
    1237 pages!

    Ha! But I’ve got the pdf saved, so if ever blogger collapses, I’d have it all.
    1237 pages? Good Grief!

  8. kyle Says:

    blog book is very cool…never heard of it but will be trying it out…I will actually turn my online sketchbook/journal into the real thing…how very Pinocchio! I always think in the back of my head…what if all my blog stuff is lost…I think its time to put my mind at ease….btw, I have a post that features your super fancy handled mug up now!

  9. meredith@whynot Says:

    fortunately you will be leaving your daughter a ton of memories with all the time she has spent with you- priceless!
    Remember when Dad did—– on the bike and then he —- and -and-
    No book can compete with those things embedded in the soul.
    But the book thing might be a good thing- I would love to do my brother’s blog as a book and wished he had left me his password… leave Sofia your passwords.

  10. ang Says:

    you may be able to reset that meredith..

  11. Cynthia Says:

    Thanks for the heads up on bloggerbook! Very cool. I just checked the back end of my blog and I have 581 posts published since 2006 – ya’ll are prolific and clearly I’m a slacker. ๐Ÿ˜€

    When I was pregnant with my daughter I started a paper journal for her too for the exact same reasons. My dad died when I was 16 – he was 44. I’ve always had it in the back of my head that it could happen to me too…although big sigh of relief, I turn 45 this year so I think I’m in the clear. I no longer keep the paper journal for her, but am going to consider the blog book thing – even if it’s just a pdf record. I would have treasured something like this from my dad.

    Bugger to the person who got upset about the phantom google ads – even if you did have them on your site, which I don’t see, it’s your blog and you can do what you want.

  12. Cynthia Says:

    Oh…one last thing. I have a wordpress site, hosted by me and I can export the whole blog as a xml…but you’d have to export it to something else.

  13. Eugene Hon Says:

    Blogger sent messages through last year, promoting the book idea for a small fee – the idea sounds great. I am yet to see such a book. Wonder what it looks like. The styling binding and the quality of printing. I have often wondered what if the whole blogger system collapses, and or passes on. There is no recourse and because one does not pay for the service – there will be no responsibility on preserving the knowledge and all the labour that goes into writing etc. God forbid it should ever happen. Just Saturday, I lost everythingon the coffee experience caused by an editing problem and because I never wrote the text in word and kept a copy, I had to start everything from scratch – I was very furious with myself. It really takes time to style images, write the text and maybe one day it will all just vanish in a flash – no records no recourse. It will be like one of those black holes in the universe – hopefully I will be ten feet under by then.

  14. Deborah Woods Says:

    Hi Jim! I saw your post on my blog … thanks for reading! I started reading your last post yesterday but didn’t have time to finish and woke up this morning wondering about the rest of the story and so came to finish it! I enjoy your writing too!

    I checked out that link about the lurking potter who was annoyed by the ad, and her self-righteous rudeness aside-I can see an ad too! It’s right under the post and it is an advertisement for 20$ chicken wings and beer (for only 10$) at a local place in my own city of Portland Maine! Straaaaange. Thought that was funny. I’m looking forward to following your blog.

Leave a Reply

