I’ve Been Musing…

Thursday was a banner day. First I found out that I was featured on the illustrious Carole Epp’s blog, Musing About Mud… (click pic to go to the post)

I’m sure that every clay person online is familiar with Carole’s blog but I will nonetheless point out that it is becoming an indispensable online resource for calls for entries, ceramic employment opportunities, residencies, workshops, and any other ceramic related information that is deemed important. For the last two years she has had an “Artist Of The Day” for the month of February and apparently there were so many this year that the daily eye candy has bled into March. Of course, last but certainly not least is the posts concerning her exceptional work, both functional pots and provocative sculptures. If you haven’t checked her blog out (which seems unlikely) and you have a hankerin’, head on over and take a peek… Musing About Mud. In addition, that morning I was informed that one of my pieces was on the front page of etsy. I think it’s the first time that’s ever happened. I don’t know how long the listing stays on the top page, it might be an hour or a half hour or 15 minutes but it’s not very long. Anyway, I got there in time to see it and decided to take a screen capture so I’d have proof (you’ll have to click to enlarge enough to see the prices and descriptions)…

It says “handpicked items” although I believe the items were actually “mousepicked” or “cursorpicked” but hell, why split hairs?, I had a piece on the front page and not only that, it was the most expensive item for sale of all the others by far. Apparently the person doing the mousepicking had a thing for dogs or, who knows, it might even be their dog and they’re trying to get rid of it. I’m quite surprised that the powers that be over at etsy would allow this kind of thing but there’s the proof.

OK, onto a couple greenware shots but first, I was having lunch with a good friend of mine and we were heading out of the restaurant when I spied a young girl (around 16 or 17) sitting in a booth feeding a baby. Something didn’t look right and as I got a bit closer, I realized that she was “feeding” a doll. She had the bottle poised right to the doll’s mouth just like it was a real baby. She saw me eying the scene and looked a bit uncomfortable so as I passed by the booth, I paused, bent over a little to get a closer look at the doll and said… “aaaaawww, he’s so cute!”. Apparently, she didn’t think this was funny and blurted out as we moved on… “school project”. As we got outside (this is how clueless I am), I made a comment to my friend that I thought it was strange and he informed me that she was most likely taking a parenting class in school. I said, well ok but she’s alone in restaurant, why not ditch the doll in the booth and eat and resume when you’re done? He told me that these dolls are quite sophisticated now and if you toss them on the floor they cry until you pick them up. So I guess they have to carry them around and tend to them just like a real baby. That’s all really fine and good but if she’s in “parental” character all day, then people stopping by to tell you how adorable your child is is as much of what it’s like to have a baby as feeding and rocking to sleep. The more I think about it, I’m kinda pissed that she didn’t give me the obligatory, “oh, thank you, no one’s ever told me that before” instead of the rude mother “school project” remark. I think we know what kinda mom she’s gonna be. OK, here’s some greenware. This is my quadruple “V” cup…

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “I’ve Been Musing…”

  1. barbaradonovan Says:

    Bwahaha. I’m so slow. At first I’m thinking “that’s not the FP, here, let me get you the link to Craft Cult”….derp. She looks like such a sweet pup. Congrats on your stellar pottery day.

  2. Tracey Says:

    Thank God my kid is in a charter school and there has been no sign of teen pregnancy in the five years she has been there, which is what I think these baby classes are really for. I see those kids around here a lot from the public school parenting class and I feel so sorry for them, they look like fools carrying those dolls around. Your terra sig work is starting to look like ancient Greek relics πŸ™‚

  3. keith Says:

    saw on facebook, but had to check out the photos, yeah, I dig that last one!

  4. meredith@whynot Says:

    oh- a dollar for the demon dog- now don’t you think that is a bit high??
    As for mother of the year I don’t think that girl would make it.
    BUT— love the look of that cup.

  5. ang Says:

    highly appropriate jim :))) she’ll catch on next time!! thinks the V cup should be red πŸ˜›

  6. liz Says:

    sheesh, I had to pretend an egg was a baby when I was in High school. The times are a changin I guess. I don’t think those classes are limited to teen mom’s. At least they weren’t when I was in school, and the kids all take human development around here.

  7. naomi Says:

    I think the purpose of that baby exercise is to instill just the reaction you saw, embarrass them and make them want to wait. Congratulations on the “musing” post – what a great blog to be on.

  8. Kelly Kessler Says:

    Hey, Jim- Two terra sig followup questions: what temp are you firing the sig to? And are you ball-milling your colorants?

  9. eugene hon Says:

    Fabulous and well deserved. Her blog is such an asset to Ceramics worldwide. I regularly gain insight into ceramic developments on all fronts due to her entries on her blog. Having to search for the information would a timeous and painful experience.

  10. Michele Says:

    16 years ago my daughter was in the first class in NH to start the “baby” thing. Her “baby” cried constantly, kept her up at all hours of the night, and by the end of the week she was a wreck. She is now 32 years old and still says she is never having kids!

Leave a Reply

