Summer Daze…

Here’s an update from squiggly headquarters…

Let’s see, where to start? You might remember a post I did a while back about a backfired practical joke using glasses with no lenses here. Well, the chip off the ol’ block had similar ideas and got a pair of my broken reading glasses and paraded around the house with them for a day or so, stopping frequently in front of mirrors…

On Tuesday of this past week a very good friend and I went to his parents’ lake cabin on Cumberland Lake, which is on the border of KY and TN. We just stayed one night and it was extremely relaxing and just what I needed. Apparently, his parents got a tract of land years back and started building the cabin. Lake Cumberland is really a reservoir created by damming the Cumberland River in the 50s. The dam has had chronic leakage problems and apparently right after my friend’s parents got started on their cabin, the lake was drained and the water receded from the tributary that lies directly in front of their cabin’s view. Here’s the view from the deck overlooking the ravine that was once lake…

So originally they were told that the water would be restored to original dammed up depth within 3 or 4 years and I guess it’s been more like 7 and still the leak and therefore possible dam breach have not been fixed. Here’s a shot looking off to the left from the deck which you can see the lake in the distance…

Although the lack of water has damaged tourism and has dampened the desire to use this cabin, my friend and I made our way down to the previous lake bottom and hiked the tributary down to where the lake is now. It was a wonderful walk and I was amazed to see how nature is taking back the holler within the short time span. There are tons of trees that look like bushes from the deck but are in fact a good 10 to 15 feet tall already. There were egrets, geese, ducks and heron. Insects abound and in the pools from the almost dry creek there were lots of little fish and snakes. I was particularly interested in the stratified rock formations that lined the walls of the ravine and were once submerged…

All a subsistence potter would need would be a good pulverizer and some way to haul a couple ton rock out of the valley to have some mighty interesting glaze tests. There was also tons of chert on the lake floor so it would have been a veritable wonderland to the flint knappers. On to cycling and my shoulder injury. As depressing as it was for me, I took over two weeks off from cycling because I thought my shoulder injury might be related to riding. I took some friends advice and lowered the front tire pressure and bit the bullet yesterday and went for a ride while Sofia was at the movies with her friend. The word’s still out on the shoulder as it feels no worse for wear but the hiatus from cycling did not make it better and the riding did not make it worse. More interesting to me is that I managed to do what I always do which is to overdo it. It was very hot yesterday and there was a heat advisory and an air quality alert. I figured I’d go out 15 miles, turn around and be done with a 30 mile ride. At 15 miles, I felt great and thought I’ll go 20 and turn around. Then at 20 I thought, I’ll go 25 and turn around. The problem was that my bike speedometer’s thermometer was pegged at a whopping 111 degrees fahrenheit for more than an hour straight and the average temp was about 104. I ended up going 50+ miles and after about 35, I hit a wall and wasn’t sure I was going to make it home. Apparently the temperature is higher wherever the blacktop is because the black is absorbing the sunlight and the heat is simply radiating from the paved roads and bike paths. Speaking of blacktop, I heard an interesting etymological story on the radio about the origins of the word tarmac. So there was a man named McAdam who invented a procedure for paving roads in the 1800s that consisted of laying down strata of stone aggregates starting with course and ending with fine and coating with a binder. Since his name was McAdam, this kind of road surface became know as macadam (which I always thought was pronounced with the accent on the first syllable but it’s the second). Later tar was introduced as the binder and combining tar with macadam yielded the word tarmac. So there you have it… who knew? Finally, more greenware. I posted the first pic at the beginning of this post because FB apparently will no longer give me a choice of which picture within a post to display as a thumbnail. Anyway, lots of shellacking going on…

Oh, I almost forgot. I’ve been working on a little sculpture and came up with this piece. I think it looks kinda greek and was contemplating calling it Venus or something similar. I decided to leave the arms off because I really need practice modelling all those little fingers…

7 Responses to “Summer Daze…”

  1. Natalie Thiele Says:

    Love the squiggles!
    Great sculpture. Ouch! Who’s pulling my leg!

  2. meredith Says:

    she said it first- but I was really enjoying the squiggles.
    Like clouds they hold a lot of stories- I am digging them.
    Your bug is getting so grown up.
    And some time in the woods is good for you-me I need some CITY time.

  3. Patricia Griffin Says:

    The bottles are wonderful. That tall one in the second to the last image is really interesting…. You’ve been busy!
    Sofia looks so much older with those glasses.

  4. Seltsa Says:

    I wonder if you ever went to the sand quarry outside Murray. One day Lynn Pesoat and I went and I was amazed at the beautiful colors of sand there – fuschia and vibrant butternut squash color and light pink. Now that I remember that day it reminds me of your design technique. It had rained sometime before we got there and some pieces of a brocken plastic black and yellow object were sitting on little pillars of sand because the surrounding sand had been washed away. There were some animal bones sitting raised in the sand too. It was all surprisingly artful and an amazing discovery. Maybe I’ll go there and find it again with Lynn when I visit for the Paducah BBQ festival Sept. 22, 23 and 24.

  5. M@ Says:

    I like the bowl. This batch of squiggles has a Kieth Herringishness to it. Can’t quite put my finger on it.

  6. gz Says:

    The bottles are getting good, but then I get to the bowl…really nice!

  7. Greciart - Greek Islands' Artisans Says:

    This sculpture is Venus of Milos island, created between 130 and 100 BC and discovered on April 8, 1820 on Milos island, Greece.
    More info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Venus_de_Milo

    Your work is very interesting! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

