Hindoo Boobs And Eye Candy…

I know, for some that’s redundant. I just got back from one of my annual pilgrimages to Des Moines to stop off at AKAR, but more importantly to visit my great friend Ig. Part of his summer’s adventures ended up with another shipping container from the far east. The dumpster was still in the driveway as I arrived and evidence of his travels was everywhere. Let’s just begin with those hindoo boobs. As a sculptor from way back, I don’t think I’m going out on a limb to suggest that of all the ancient sculptors that carve depictions of deities throughout history, none consistently do better boobs than the Hindus. I first became acutely aware of this after a visit to the Smithsonian’s Freer and Sackler galleries. So as I pulled up in the drive, here’s what I saw…

I know, I know, these statues are not old (just carved actually) and not made by Indian sculptors but still, check this out…

Am I right or am I right? I mean these are definitely not Michelangelo’s pomegranite boobs…

Hey, I love Michelangelo as well as the next person but I have to give credit where credit is due. OK, moving on from the nonsense. Like all visits to my friend Ig’s, there was much food, wine, movies and best of all great conversation… especially at a couple dinners where friends showed up to socialize. As the camera sat in the kitchen (just like my last visit), I completely forgot to take pics of the guests… bad blogger. So on to the eye candy. Here’s my favorite new vase of Ig’s (it’s not all that old but I sure like it)…

Dreamy! Here’s some new masks…

Here’s a big blue and white vase (not all that old again but not new either)…

More pots…

One of my faves…

Here’s a cute little one…

Ig also has a bunch of petrified wood and then there was this petrified shell. Look at my foot to see how big this thing is…

Now let’s switch over to contemporary. I stopped into AKAR to swap out some inventory and took the opportunity to get some pics of work. I always like to visit AKAR’s gallery because there’s so much great stuff all packed in there…

Here’s Jeff’s…

And Ms. Yoppolo…

Mr. Michael’s…

Mr. Snipes’, not so hot of a pic as the pieces were tucked back in a bit of shade and looked bad with the flash on so this is what I got…

Ms. Coleman…

And Adam Field, never saw his before in person, beautiful pots…

Last but not least, Mr. Chung…

Of course, there was some fun and games. At the dinner party, Ig got out his “cheese cutting board” (not sure why that’s in quotations) and in the box was this “cheese saw”. I was wondering what kind of cheese needed such a lethal gadget. I tried to shave with it to no avail…

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “Hindoo Boobs And Eye Candy…”

  1. Ignatius Widiapradja Says:

    It was a great visit and I am always looking forward to his visit. James modestly didi not mention how my friends salivated over his beautiful new creations that he brought!

  2. Patricia Griffin Says:

    Thanks for the AKAR shots. Great to see!

  3. Paul Barchilon Says:

    Those are actually mediocre Hindu boobs. If you ever get to Kajarahoo, you will see that the boobs defy gravity, regardless of whether the woman herself is inverted. They were clearly inflated with helium in those days. As for Michelangelo, the way he drew women left no doubt – he liked men, and especially muscular ones!

  4. gz Says:

    Love the Cute Little One!.
    Pots (and boobs!) don’t have to be huge -agree with the comment re Michaelangelo- those boobs are an afterthought!!

  5. judi tavill Says:

    sort of jealous… it is all so yummy… hindoo boobies…not so much…but you get my meaning. really great eye candy. the pots I mean…would like to see more of yours of course.

  6. barbaradonovan Says:

    Gosh. I’ve never felt a longing to visit Iowa before these pics at AKAR….

  7. meredith@whynot Says:

    well I think any man would like to be greeted at the door with all the boobs he can find, or see. It is my thoughts they love them all- for different reasons…
    but on to the pots- some very wonderful pots there- do they let you pick them up???

    • jim Says:

      hi meredith,
      i picked up some mugs and no one said anything but i’m not sure now that you mention it

  8. meredith@whynot Says:

    PS- the ivy- there are some areas here where the vines are as big around as a leg- a big leg they scare me…!

  9. Connie Says:

    Hi Jim
    wow, what does your friend Ig do? Can I get a job like that? I loved seeing all the booty from his trip. And all the boobs tooo!

    • jim Says:

      hi connie,
      ig teaches at a university. he did, however, have a gallery/store for several years selling asian antique ceramics and sculpture

Leave a Reply

