You Say Potato…

Someone posted this picture on Farcebook today and I thought I would repost it here…

You may recognize the dude on the right but the smoking dude on the left (and he was on the left) is Renato Guttuso. When you have a name like Gottuso, it’s difficult to claim ancestors as there aren’t that many and then there’s the spelling thing. I’ve known of Renato for some time and thought the name’s spelled differently but since my grandfather and Renato were both born in Palermo, I’d say it’s more like that the folks at Ellis Island gave my grandfather an o instead of a u. The other famous Gottuso is the head-butting soccer player but I won’t go there just now. If you’re feeling a bit uninspired or lazy about getting into the studio because maybe you have frozen shoulder or plantar fasciitis or maybe you can’t see very well, check this dude out…

OK, on to the big Mint Julep Show at the Mary Anderson Art Center. The reception is next Saturday and if you live in the area, it should be a very nice event. By the way, if you’ve never been up to Mt. St. Francis and in your mind it’s way up there in Indiana… it’s not. You can get from downtown Louisville to the Mount in less than 15 minutes and you don’t have to drive on little back roads or anything. Take the Paoli exit off 64W, go left at the 3rd light and you’re there. Anyway, I took some pictures the other day and thought that I’d post some of my favorites from the show. Here goes…

That’s Adam Field’s. Here’s Mr. Turner…

Here’s some beauties of Mr. Carter…

Ms. Kieffer.

Sebastian’s cups, I just happen to have an interior shot of Seb’s with a little fishy inside…

Left to right, Sam Chung, Chandra DeBuse, Kirk Mangus and Jeff Campana.

Here’s Lana Wilson…

Last but not least is these lovelies by Brooks Bouwkamp…

Au Revoir.

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “You Say Potato…”

  1. Michael Kline Says:

    Pablo looks a little pissed to be in this picture. Thanks for the pictures of the cups. But where are yours?

  2. Ignatius Widiapradja Says:

    Renato looks a bit like you!

  3. judi tavill Says:

    I think Pablo was feeling a little inadequate next to the vivacious gottuso /tomato… he looks very fun… I just saw part of Midnight in Paris last night and I have these guys on the mind… the cups are super cool… I need to hunt down a Lana Wilson… PRONTO…as they say in Italy..
    Caio.

  4. Judi Tavill Says:

    Reading 11 22 63 now(when i can get to it) really like it. Re : time travel…

  5. meredith@whynot Says:

    lovely cups- and now I can’t complain about my neck or feet hurting…

Leave a Reply

